Blogalong with Effy

300 x 300

I hope I haven’t over-committed myself!  I just started blogging and now I’m going to try to do 30 posts in 30 days?  What was I thinking?!?!?!  It’s not like I’m a busy person with lots to share.  I’m not.  I don’t even leave my house all that much.  Except for art or any type of art-related trouble I can get into.  You see, I’m an art journaler.  In the past 5 years I have made and filled over 40 journals.  Yup…I almost exclusively work in journals I have made myself.  Some time this month I’ll try to take a photo of a pile of them to share.  For now, though, here are a few examples of the sort of thing I do in my journals.  I hope you enjoy!  Be sure to click on the artwork to enlarge it.

 

This is a recent spread done for Effy Wild’s Book of Days class.

IMG_0314

 

One of my better efforts at portrait drawing.  The design in the background is mostly pieces of monoprints made on a GelliArts gel printing plate.  I’ll dedicate a post to that in the future.

IMG_0061

 

This was one of my simpler pages.  The wing is a stencil from StencilGirl Products.

IMG_0034

 

I hope that gives you an idea of what art journaling is and how pages have varying degrees of complexity and content.  Over the next 30 days I will give you more examples, share favorite techniques and products, as well as just having fun.  I hope you’ll come back and see what I have to offer.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Zoe @ Top Floor Treasures
    Aug 01, 2013 @ 13:31:28

    40 journals.
    In 5 years.
    *faints*
    That’s amazing and astonishing Raine! I’m only on my 4th art journal, although I have several writing journals too. But still. 40!!! Wow!
    Gorgeous pages as always!

    Reply

    • Raine
      Aug 01, 2013 @ 21:07:15

      Thanks, Zoe! I LOVE making journals. I’ve started doing morning pages again several months ago and am in my 4th journal so far. I don’t make those journals. But I do decorate them!

      Reply

  2. melitasmixedmedia
    Aug 01, 2013 @ 20:39:24

    Great pages, Raine. I especially love the wing.

    Reply

  3. Michelle LaPoint Rydell
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 01:54:14

    Hi Raine! I just love all of your pages! Your stained glass-haired girl is especially beautiful! I can’t wait to see a pic of your journals!

    Reply

  4. Raine
    Aug 02, 2013 @ 18:58:44

    Thanks, Michelle! I’m really happy with how she came out.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

