International Friendship Day – Blog Hop Challenge #6

Today is Heartsong Arts Academy Blog Hop #6 and Day 4 in Effy Wild’s Blogalong.  It’s also International Friendship Day.  Wow!  That’s a lot to keep track of.  Especially since I’m recovering from two days of 8-hour art classes!  Ahh…the life of an art blogger is never simple.  *giggle*

The Blog Hop Challenge is to art about either a song that you and a friend, either from your past or your present, consider “your song” or a song that reminds you of your first friends or a song that reminds you of hanging out with friends as a teenager.  I picked the last scenario.  I don’t actually have a song…I have an album:

I have very fond memories of listening to this album with my BFF, Mary-Ellen Turcotte (now Mary-Ellen MacLeod).  We’ve known each other since we were 12 and we are still very close.  So we have been friends for *mumble, mumble* years.  What was that?  Speak up!  Stop mumbling!  Ok…we’ve been friends for 44 years.  I love her to bits!  She has frequently told me that she has never met anyone as comfortable in their own skin as I am.  This is probably the highest compliment anyone has ever paid me!  She has always been there for me whenever I’ve needed her.

Back to the music!  When this soundtrack album came out, we spent endless hours listening to it.  Well…not just listening.  We’d play the record (yes, vinyl!) up in Mary-Ellen’s brother, Joey’s room.  We’d lipsync to it and even do dance routines!  It was so much fun!  Sometimes Joey would join in the fun.  It was his room, after all.

Here’s my journal page commemorating that time:  (click on image to enlarge)

IMG_0343

I hope you enjoyed this little blast from my past!

heartsong arts academy blog hop badge 200x200

Check out how the other Heartsong Arts Academy instructors responded to this challenge:

Melita’s Mixed Media

Emerging Lotus Flowers

Remember, it’s a Blog Hop Challenge.  Don’t forget to link up!  Let’s see the music in YOU!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Zoe @ Top Floor Treasures
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 17:10:29

    Gorgeous page and memories Raine. I could almost ‘see’ you dancing and lip-syncing along 🙂 Also love the journal you made at the class!

    Reply

  2. Raine
    Aug 04, 2013 @ 17:46:18

    Thanks, Zoe! Mary-Ellen and I always had fun together. That’s how we’ve stayed so close for so long. Besides, she knows too much about me!
    Yesterday’s class was wonderful. Wendy is a great teacher!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

