Whoda Thunk It?

If someone had told me six months ago that I would have my own blog, I probably would have laughed in their face.  And yet…here we are!  (Don’t forget to click on the image to enlarge it!)

IMG_0355

Yes…BLOG BLISS!!!  I am loving every minute of it.  Some days I scramble a bit to figure out what to post.  Some days I make a special effort to make a new journal page just for my blog.  On occasion, I might pull from a previous journal for a page I particularly like.  I have over 40 of them.  That’s a lot of pages to pick from!  Today’s page is actually from this week’s “Book of Days” class with Effy Wild.  (There’s a link for her below.  Just click on the Blogalong badge.)  But I have always come up with something so far, thanks to Effy’s Blogablong challenge.

Today’s page is actually from this week’s “Book of Days” class.  The technique for this week was using monoprints made with a GelliArts printing plate or some other form of printing.  Fortunately for me, I have stacks of these prints hanging around my studio.  My hubby even came up to the studio one evening to see what I was doing.  After he saw me pull a few prints, he understood my enthusiasm for the process.  He now also understands my “need” for copious amounts of stencils!  I go through periods when I will be in my studio for hours, pulling print after print.  It’s way too much fun!  (I wholeheartedly recommend that you visit the GelliArts website to see what all the fuss is about!)  So I picked 2 prints with similar colors, painted my pages to accent them and before long, I had a finished spread that I’m really happy with.

I could hardly wait to post this on my blog.  I woke up my poor husband because the best light is in the bedroom so it’s the best place to take photographs. (It’s not what you think!) He’s very patient with me.  This has become an all-too-common occurrence in our home.  I raced downstairs to my computer to upload it so I could get my blog ready to post.

So, yes.  Blog Bliss.  I’m sure it’s going to last long past the Blogalong.  Whoda thunk it?

blogalongbutton

 

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shirley Douglass
    Aug 08, 2013 @ 23:39:59

    Glad the Blogalong is making you happy. I am trying, but again today I just couldn’t seem to get it done. Hmmm It is only 8:40 pm here so I still have time LOL

    Reply

  2. Raine
    Aug 08, 2013 @ 23:56:06

    It was almost 11:00 here when I posted! I’m determined to do this every day!!!

    Reply

  3. Michelle LaPoint Rydell
    Aug 09, 2013 @ 02:42:12

    I’m so glad you are liking blogging! I look forward to your posts! Your journal spread is gorgeous – reminds me of a summer cruise in a tropical paradise! Those colors are just yummy!

    Reply

    • Raine
      Aug 09, 2013 @ 10:22:41

      Thanks, Michelle! I accidentally painted the pages with the same green paint as I used on the papers, so I just disappeared when I glued them down! Live and learn! 😉 I still like them.

      Reply

  4. dhowell9000
    Aug 09, 2013 @ 03:07:36

    I Too look forward to your post! AND I didnt think the Gellie plate was such a big deal….and then I started seeing some really cool prints! I AM HOOKED, However I made my own Forever Gellie plate, if it gets dinged or breaks ect I can just melt it down and re-set it! I found that one from “the Frugal Crafter” on You Tube! was pretty cheap to make! I will keep waiting for your next post LONG after the Blog a long! I am also Loving this more than I thought!!

    Reply

    • Raine
      Aug 09, 2013 @ 10:25:33

      Thanks so much, Dawn! I LOVE Gelli printing! I’m sure you’ll get hooked, too. Let me know how yours works out. I bought mine as soon as they came out because patience is not one of my virtues! 😉

      Reply

  5. Janelle
    Aug 09, 2013 @ 13:01:24

    You should be happy! You are amazing!!

    Reply

  6. Raine
    Aug 09, 2013 @ 18:27:15

    Thanks, Janelle!

    Reply

  7. Zoe @ Top Floor Treasures
    Aug 09, 2013 @ 19:48:28

    Hmm….I may just have to add a GelliPlate to my birthday wish list LOL I’m so happy that blogging is going well for you and that you’re enjoying it! Seems like it’s given you a whole new lease of life ❤

    Reply

    • Raine
      Aug 09, 2013 @ 21:36:30

      Thanks, Zoe! I *strongly* suggest you get a Gelli plate. If you have stencils hanging around, you’ll start getting your money’s worth out of them! If you don’t have any, you can actually doodle on the plate!! Blogging really *has* made a difference in my life. It’s bringing out writing skills that I forgot I had. I’m really enjoying that part of it, too…not just the art. Whoda thunk it? 😉

      Reply

Leave a Reply

