I’m Cracked…but you probably already knew that!

This is a page I did for my Book Of Days class recently.  It was using words from the song “Anthem” by Leonard Cohen.  “There is a crack in everything.  That’s how the light gets in.”  This is what came to me when I did my page.  (Click on the image to enlarge it.)

IMG_0307

I found some images of cracked pots, cut them out and glued them down “artistically.”  I highlighted the cracks with gold.  There is a Japanese custom of filling cracks in pottery with gold or gold-imbued resin.  It not only strengthens the piece but it turns something that would have been discarded into a piece of art.  I love that idea!  This tells me that my “flaws” or cracks are actually my strengths.  These are the things that make me shine!

On this journal page, we included a flap made out of deli paper, a semi-translucent paper that is currently making the rounds in the art world.  Underneath it is space for personal writing.  But I wasn’t sure what to put on top.  Suddenly, the song “This little light of mine” started looping around in my head.  I have always thought of it as a “church song” and wasn’t sure how it applied to me.  But it kept playing in my head. So I decided to give my Muse her way and I wrote it.  As I did, I started to realize what it meant…for me…at this time.  I have always tried to be perfect.  Even though I know I can’t be.  No one can.  However, that never stopped me from trying.  But I have these cracks, these imperfections.  Now I am starting to understand that those are the things that make me unique, that make me who I am.  They are where I shine!  So I added my favorite sun stamp, gilded his smiling face and rejoiced.

I’m cracked!  I’m imperfect.  It’s who I am.  Let your light shine today.  Because, you know what?  You’re cracked, too!

blogalongbutton

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shirley Douglass
    Aug 11, 2013 @ 23:12:20

    Love this post! Yes we are cracked and the light is shining in 🙂 You did such a great job with this!

    Reply

  2. Raine
    Aug 12, 2013 @ 00:14:34

    Thanks, Shirley! I had no idea where I was going when I started writing this! I’m so glad it came out this well. I’m happy you liked it.

    Reply

  3. Michelle LaPoint Rydell
    Aug 12, 2013 @ 01:45:05

    I never knew about the custom of putting the gold in cracks – I love that concept, and I love your page, Raine! The way you highlighted the cracked pots, and the sun with the quote – it’s all beautiful!

    Reply

    • Raine
      Aug 12, 2013 @ 10:14:28

      Thanks, Michelle! It’s a cool tradition. I heard about it years ago and someone mentioned it when we did this page. I’m glad you like it. It means a lot to me coming from you because your pages are always SO beautiful.

      Reply

  4. rose
    Aug 12, 2013 @ 11:51:37

    What a great expression and wonderful spread! We are all cracked ~ and I, for one, am thankful for that … and all the light that shimmers through!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

