Face Time

I love drawing faces.  But I get so hung up on the details.  Are the eyes the same size?  Is the nose in the middle?  Are the lips in proportion to the face?  In fact, I’d get so hung up on those details that I never really got past the drawing stage.  I never really learned how to shade.  Today I took some tenuous steps into the mysterious world of shading.  (Click on the image to enlarge.)

IMG_0373

I’m taking an online class called FACEinating Girls, taught by Andrea Gomoll.  When you sign up for the class, you are sent a set of Clearstamps that include 3 sets of eyes, 2 noses, 2 mouths as well as a couple of little curls and a heart.  Andrea teaches how to stamp the features and draw the shape of the face.  That’s as far as I’ve gotten in the class.  However, I was armed with information from Effy Wild and several other miscellaneous sources.  I was feeling brave and decided to just give it a try.

So here she is.  I’m really happy with her.  Now I just need to start watching the videos from my classes…

blogalongbutton

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michelle LaPoint Rydell
    Aug 12, 2013 @ 23:41:40

    She’s beautiful Raine! I love her white hair, and your shading is awesome!

    Reply

    • Raine
      Aug 13, 2013 @ 01:34:09

      Thanks, Michelle! Leaving the hair white was actually my hubby’s idea! He helps me with lots of design choices. I just added some light grey lines to give it some dimension.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

