Floating Underwater

Today I thought I’d share a fun piece I made last year.  It is a 2-layered piece: the background on watercolor paper and an overlay on acetate.  (Click on images to enlarge.)

For the background, I dripped paints from both the bottom and the top of the paper to give the look of water and seaweed:

IMG_0027

For the overlay, I stamped images of underwater plants and sea creatures.  And what’s an underwater scene without a mermaid?

IMG_0031

Then I put the two layers together, added a little glitter glue for some bling and here you have it!

IMG_0046

I hope you enjoyed this piece and seeing how I made it.  I’ll have to do this again.  It’s lots of fun.

blogalongbutton

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. aviv2762
    Aug 15, 2013 @ 19:14:24

    fascinating. I like how you take us through your process.

    Reply

  2. fluffyash
    Aug 15, 2013 @ 22:13:19

    What a fun idea, I think I’ll try that. Love your ocean scape!

    Reply

    • Raine
      Aug 16, 2013 @ 00:53:31

      Thanks, Jackie! I have lots of mermaid and underwatery stamps! It was nice to have a way to use them. This technique is really cool!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

