Face Time, again!

In Book of Days this week, Effy walks us through drawing a face, then painting it.  I am so grateful for the “Pause” and “Rewind” features on my laptop!  I spent a lot of time on this one.  No stamps, just me drawing, erasing and drawing again. This is what I have so far.     (Click on image to enlarge.)

Sketched face 8-15-13

I love how her nose came out…I have nostril issues, so noses are difficult for me.  (Don’t judge!)  I’m really happy with her!   So happy, in fact, that I’m afraid to paint her!  What if I f*** her up?  Then I remembered another wonderful thing that technology allows me to do…I scanned her.  Now I can print out as many copies of her as I want, whenever I want!

I used to be pretty frightened by technology.  When my hubby was first teaching me how to use a computer, he kept saying, “It’s just point and click.”  To which I inevitably responded, “Point what and click where?  I don’t know what the hell you’re talking about!!!” (Yes…that warranted 3 exclamation points.  I was frustrated.)  I used to call his massive computer the five hundred dollar video game.  I honestly didn’t understand why he needed it.  That was over 15 years ago.  Fast forward to 2013 and I don’t know what I’d do without this machine!  I’m finally learning how to take advantage of what it offers me…connections with friends, ways to save my art and send it to people who might want to see it, ways to save my work in stages so that I don’t lose something I’d like to keep before moving on, etc.  I’ve learned how to take photos with my phone and my tablet and upload them to my computer.  (That was a biggie.  It terrified me.  Now I could probably do it in my sleep!)  And I can BLOG!  Oh joy, oh rapture!  (Too much? Hey, I’m really excited about this!)

Anyhoo…that is my latest face sketch.  I hope you like it.  I’ll post her again once she is painted.  Maybe I’ll paint her more than once.  After all, I scanned the sketch into my computer.  It’s a wonderful thing!

blogalongbutton

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shirley Douglass
    Aug 16, 2013 @ 19:16:06

    She is beautiful Raine! So glad you decided to scan her so you can keep her always. I know what you mean about doing without your computer. I am on mine way too much. But it is the way I found all of these lovely glittery ladies! ❤ And it is the way I found my art. So glad I have it. By the way, I have nostril issues to, drew and erased, drew and erased, drew and erased. Nostrils are hard. Cann't wait to see her when she is done!

    Reply

    • Raine
      Aug 16, 2013 @ 19:51:11

      Thank you, Shirley! Isn’t it amazing how we all found each other? What a blessing!!! I’ll keep you posted (no pun intended!) on my portrait.

      Reply

  2. 1000fieldsofroses
    Aug 17, 2013 @ 01:02:53

    Nostril issues! heehee 🙂
    …noses are weird and difficult to draw… give me eyes any day! Nevertheless, your drawing up there turned out beautifully – will enjoy seeing how you choose to paint her, too.. (and yay for scanning abilities!)

    Reply

  3. Michelle LaPoint Rydell
    Aug 17, 2013 @ 02:08:40

    Thank heavens for the internet – my glitterhood friend! Your face is gorgeous! Great idea to scan her!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

