Looking Back

I thought today I would share some pages from my early journals.  I started art journaling in 2008.  Here are some from my second year.   Please pardon the quality (or lack thereof) of these photos.  They were scanned during my “technology scares the crap out of me” stage.    (Click on image to enlarge.)

This is the journal these photos came from:

APAD Journal 2 - Fabric and Ribbon

I’ve always been this way!

11-1-09

The fan/fern stamp is one of the first ones I carved myself.  It’s still one of my favorites.

7-4-09

Not much has changed.

7-11-09

I’m really finicky about the temperature.

8-5-09

An homage to my family.  I really miss hanging around the table after supper.  We’d probably stay there for about an hour.  Just sharing our day or reminiscing.  We loved to hear Daddy’s stories about growing up.

This photo was a part of a promotional brochure for my dad’s hypnotic show.  He’s supposed to be making my  mother see a mouse.  I don’t think they were even married yet when this photo was taken.  I’ve always loved it.  It was black and white but I added some color for the journal.

3-26-09

I hope you enjoyed this little trip down art journaling memory lane.  It was so much fun looking through the pages of my old journals.

blogalongbutton

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Janelle
    Aug 17, 2013 @ 20:54:28

    We always ate dinner together too. That’s one thing I wish that my little family did more of. Now we eat in the living room.

    Reply

  2. fluffyash
    Aug 17, 2013 @ 21:24:33

    I love your background pages, they look like bright textiles. What was used to create them? Are they scrap book paper, with paints? They colors oh my goodness….beautiful!!! Yeah the meals around the dinner table was an every night tradition!

    Reply

    • Raine
      Aug 17, 2013 @ 22:48:55

      The backgrounds are mostly layers of acrylic paint, with a few small pieces of scrapbook paper. I have a whole notebook of color combinations for the paints. I’m glad you like them!

      Reply

  3. Patricia Ross Lacroix
    Aug 17, 2013 @ 23:37:38

    These are wonderful Raine. I wish I’d started earlier. It must be so much fun to have such a colorful artistic record of your life like this ;D

    Reply

    • Raine
      Aug 18, 2013 @ 00:18:54

      Thanks, Patricia! I’m glad you like them. Every now and then I’ll just pull one of my journals off of the the shelf and look through it. It’s amazing the things we forget!

      Reply

  4. Mary
    Aug 18, 2013 @ 09:38:38

    These journal pages are wonderful. Thank you for sharing your memories.

    Reply

  5. fireimp
    Aug 18, 2013 @ 12:20:55

    I love those multicolor cats and agree with you on the temperature. I tell people that 50-70 is my preferred range. I really should live in SF where that’s the norm.

    The picture of your parents is priceless too.

    Reply

  6. fireimp
    Aug 18, 2013 @ 12:21:14

    Btw, I’m Rene

    Reply

  7. melitasmixedmedia
    Aug 18, 2013 @ 20:23:41

    Amazing pages, Rainebow! I do the same stuff for fun and as I get older I’m getting quiet particular about temperature though my family won’t let me go below 77. ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

