Teachers

I have been fortunate to be able to take classes with some really amazing teachers.  To me, these people are equivalent to rock stars!  And, boy, to I ever get star struck!!!  Yesterday I signed up for 3 classes with Dyan Reaveley in October.  I will be gushing about it for the whole two months until then and, surely, for months afterward.  I took some classes with her last year.  Here’s a photo of us together.  (Be still, my heart!)

Dyan Reaveley and Me

I took a class with Julie Fei-Fan Balzer this past spring.  Her mother was there, too.  What a fun pair!  The class was awesome!!!

 Julie Fea-Fan Blazer and Me

A few years ago I took several classes with Tim Holtz.  I look a little terrified!  But he was very nice.

2007_09080152

I don’t know why I don’t have a photo of me with Michael DeMeng.  He was really nice and the class was wonderful.  But I do have a picture of him holding the “Mermaid Slipper” I made in his class.  I love this piece.  It’s an old shoe covered in shells with a cast of a face in the heel.  (Click on the image to enlarge it and click on that one again to see more detail of my shoe.)

Michael DeMeng and my Mermaid Slipper

My favorite photo of me with a teacher, though, is one of me with Fred Mullett.  It was a terrible picture of me and I had to crop the hell out of it.  But Fred is kissing the top of my head!  How sweet is that?

Fred Mullett with Raine 6-6-09 - cropped

I love taking classes.  They don’t have to be with “famous” artists.  I’ve taken some really kick ass classes with local artists who haven’t been recognized for their great talents yet.  But those rock star moments are the icing on the cake.

Jethro Tull or Fred Mullett?  Fred…definitely Fred!

blogalongbutton

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shirley Douglass
    Aug 18, 2013 @ 21:35:49

    How exciting! As I have said before, I have just started on this journey so I haven’t taken a lot of classes. The only classes I have taken have been from Effy. I intend to take more when I can. I don’t even know where to start, but I will take some for sure.

    Reply

  2. Raine
    Aug 18, 2013 @ 21:37:28

    Thanks, Shirley! I just emailed Fred to tell him about this post. If you ever get a chance to take a class with him, DO IT! He’s a blast!

    Reply

  3. fluffyash
    Aug 19, 2013 @ 00:09:31

    You are one lucky lady, no wonder you are so talented, look at the company you keep! Love that shoe, wow. I love Julie Fei_Fan Balzer, I have taken one of her classes. Ran into Tim Holtz doing a class! 😳But that’s all I got. Can’t wait to take more classes. Thank you for sharing all you very cool photos, loved them!

    Reply

    • Raine
      Aug 19, 2013 @ 00:36:58

      Thanks, Jackie! Yeah, I’m spoiled rotten! 😉 I’m glad you like my shoe. Michael’s style is very industrial, which is totally NOT me. As I was leaving the house that morning for class, I saw this box of shells in my studio and just grabbed it on an impulse. Don’t you love what happens when you follow those impulses?!?!?!

      Reply

  4. Cindy E.
    Aug 19, 2013 @ 01:37:19

    Lucky girl!! Teesha Moore is in my area, and I will one day be able to afford to attend one of her classes. I have put it out into the Universe, however, that I am willing to travel to accommodate these star sightings/interactions! 🙂 LOVE your Mermaid slipper!

    Reply

  5. Zoe @ Top Floor Treasures
    Aug 19, 2013 @ 05:40:40

    Wonderful photos Raine! I would LOVE to take a class with Julie!!!

    Reply

  6. melitasmixedmedia
    Aug 19, 2013 @ 10:38:12

    How fun! I wonder why no one ever comes to DE LOL

    Reply

Leave a Reply

