Finished…just about

Remember her?

Sketched face 8-15-13

Today I finally sat down to paint her.  It was really scary!  I’m always so afraid that I’m going to mess up a drawing that I’m happy with.  But I took a deep breath, pulled out my paint and went for it.  (Click on images to enlarge.)

Here she is!

IMG_0383

I’m very happy with how she came out.  I am going to add another layer of paint on her hair when I get my order from my art supplier.  I ran out just as I was finishing the first coat.  This particular color, Quinacridone Nickel Azo Gold, already has highlights and lowlights.  These will show up much better when I put down another layer.

I learned in important lesson with this painting.  If I want to add colored pencil to an acrylic painting, I should put down a layer of clear gesso.  That would have given me crisper penciled lines.  Now I know!

The whole page just seemed to be “floating” so I added the checkerboard stamp all around it to ground it.  It’s another one of the stamps I carved myself.

I hope you like her as much as I do.

blogalongbutton

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Janelle
    Aug 19, 2013 @ 21:01:33

    She turned out beautifully!

    Reply

  2. Julia Vazquez
    Aug 19, 2013 @ 21:48:11

    Wow, she is gorgeous, love the colors and that border is amazing, you are totally right it grounds the page.
    Hugs,
    Julia

    Reply

  3. Shirley Douglass
    Aug 20, 2013 @ 00:33:43

    Oh I love her Raine! She is gorgeous!

    Reply

  4. Paula McLane Jennings
    Aug 20, 2013 @ 00:36:22

    amazing job with her! beautiful!

    Reply

  5. Michelle LaPoint Rydell
    Aug 20, 2013 @ 02:04:03

    Oh Raine I LOVE her! The shading on her lips and the sparkle in her eye – just beautiful!

    Reply

  6. Karen Stewart
    Aug 20, 2013 @ 11:54:21

    I love the journal spread. I especially love the borders. I am into borders on my pages too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

