Owning Our Bodies

In this week’s Book of Days class, we touched on the subject of personal sovereignty…of owning our bodies.  We were to do a version of “I’m the boss of me” in a lighthearted way, enjoying the process of painting this figure.  I wanted to take this opportunity to embrace the topic of size acceptance.  I decided to paint a full figured image to represent myself.  (click on image to enlarge)

IMG_0393

I have always drawn my images with average sized bodies.  I think that most of us do.  But I’m seeing a disturbing trend in the rubber stamping and mixed media world of these super-skinny, unrealistically thin bodies.  I won’t buy these stamps.  There are very few images out there that look like me…as well as a lot of women I know and love.  

So today I declare that “I am the Queen of my body!”  I have accepted and learned to really love this large body of mine.  I like to think that I NEED to be this big to contain all of the love that I have inside me.  I want us all to be able to embrace the wonderful diversity of sizes in our world…skinny, large, average, super-size!  Wouldn’t the world be a boring place if everyone looked the same?  I don’t have anything against thin women.  I just don’t think we are all meant to be that way.  Certainly we can’t be meant to torture ourselves to look that way.

I’m fat.  It’s just a word.  It has no power over me that I don’t give it.  I love my body.  I encourage you to love yours, too.  No matter what size it is.

blogalongbutton

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sharon Fritchman
    Aug 23, 2013 @ 05:56:28

    Your pages are so beautiful and I absolutely LOVE the message behind them! You go girl!!!! Thanks so much for sharing your talent and beauty with all of us!

    Reply

  2. Marilynn
    Aug 23, 2013 @ 08:33:26

    she’s beautiful, I saw the photo/spread before I read your blog and “fat” never crossed my mind. I love her body/full figure, I don’t think we were meant to be pencil thin. I agree with you certainly we aren’t meant to torture ourselves to look a certain way. ♥

    Reply

  3. sexysmartpowerfulentrepreneuress
    Aug 23, 2013 @ 10:17:13

    I adore this piece, and I adore your line of thinking! I am a big girl too, nice and curvy and it’s a shame that everything is focused on slim women… every woman is beautiful in her own way and it’s time we all celebrated that! You should be proud to be YOU! 😀

    Reply

  4. Janelle
    Aug 23, 2013 @ 10:18:56

    I have noticed tht trend with the skinny bitches too!!! I’m ok with how I am. Sometimes I feel cruddy, but that’s true for anyone.
    You are beautiful!!

    Reply

  5. Raine
    Aug 23, 2013 @ 12:37:00

    Thank you, everyone, for your wonderful comments! I’m gobsmacked! I wasn’t really sure how this piece would be received. I was up there on my soap box!!! But it’s something I feel very strongly about. You are all beautiful, each and every one of you, regardless of size or personal appearance. Inner beauty needs time to emerge. Too many times we are given a quick glance and dismissed. How many people have missed out on meeting some amazing people because they were judged on their appearance?

    Reply

  6. Ariel Gill
    Aug 24, 2013 @ 18:54:41

    Raine, thank you for your post. *applauding* for your willingness to embrace all the wonder that is YOU! I happen to think that you are very cool, my dear.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

