Multi-Tasking Photo

I put together my new easel today!  It’s very exciting.  I won’t tell you how many times I had to take it apart and redo all of the things I did wrong.  But in the end, I have the easel I have always wanted.  It’s a Dick Blick convertible easel, meaning it can be used straight up, tilted slightly forward for use with pastels, tilted back at an angle, or adjusted completely horizontal to paint with watercolors.  I also love that it has a shelf, so that I don’t have to put my art supplies on the floor.  And it folds up flat for storage!  Who wouldn’t want that feature?!?!?   (Click on images to enlarge.)

IMG_0407

This photo shows several things.   My new AWESOME easel, just like the one I used in my art classes.  The cover of the journal I am just finishing.  (I’ll have a close-up of it below.)  Why I need more bookcases.   …and that I really need to clean my den…

Here’s that close-up of my journal cover that I promised you…

IMG_0416

I generally decorate my covers after my journal is finished or almost finished.  I’m a bit messy when I art and I tend to get schmutz on my journals.  It’s just easier to work in if I’m not worrying about getting it dirty.  I still give it three good coats of gloss finish when it’s done.  I like the look and it seems to make the cover a little sturdier.  I have a large box lid in my den (yes, the messy one! Don’t judge! 😉  ) that I use to do my spraying.

You can also see in my photo why I need more bookcases!  There are even books that belong on this case that have to go back there.  That’s the only reason there are gaps on the top two shelves.  Lower shelves have books piled two deep, with some books stuffed in sideways.  It’s a crime!  But I do so love books.  They have always been my companions.  They take me places I could never go otherwise.  They create movies in my head.  Sometimes I can’t remember if a memory is from a book or a movie because I visualize my books so clearly.  One new bookcase coming up soon!

Tomorrow I have an online painting class.  I’ll be able to break in my new easel.  I’ll take a photo when it’s over and post it here for all of my lovely followers.  Thanks for coming back.

blogalongbutton

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Janelle
    Aug 24, 2013 @ 21:30:23

    Can’t wait to see your work!!!

    Reply

  2. Sumaiyah Dymonz
    Aug 25, 2013 @ 22:17:12

    You know I’m loving the easel. And that journal — glitter-gorgeous!!!!! Until Wednesday! Smooches!!!

    Reply

  3. Lee
    Aug 26, 2013 @ 20:35:59

    I would love the space to put in an easel like that. Every time i go to the art store I lovingly look a them and then have to pass. Maybe I can vicariously live through your photo 🙂
    Yay, I have found another book addict!! I love my books and my bookshelves are stacked two rows deep and then books are stacked on top. No available space is left in my shelves either but I just can’t part with any.
    Can’t wait to see your artwork. I just love the cover of your latest journal
    xo

    Reply

    • Raine
      Aug 26, 2013 @ 21:09:02

      Thanks, Lee!!! We’ll start and Adopt-An-Easel program. You have a photo of an easel and I send you updates on what it’s doing! *giggle*
      BOOKS…LOVE! What more can I say?!?!?!

      Reply

  4. Dawn Burnside
    Aug 27, 2013 @ 11:52:15

    Love your easel, I can see you working at it already. And I wanted to say a sincere “thank~you” for your comment in Glitterhood. You are all a wonderful & kind group of women & I am honored to be a long for the ride with you.
    P>S> Awesome journal cover, it makes me want to go for it & make my own.And one more thing, I love how you described your love affair with books. My shelves runnith over too.

    Reply

    • Raine
      Aug 27, 2013 @ 15:50:55

      Thank you SO much, Dawn! This really is a wonderful tribe of women to hang with.
      I hope you will make your own journal. There’s something very special about working in a journal that you have made yourself.
      Books! Always happy to meet another bibliophile!!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

