Doctor’s Orders…With A Little Help From My Friends

Yesterday, Dawn Zichko posted this quote by Dr. Seuss on her blog.  (click on image to enlarge)

IMG_0426

There was a lot more to Theodor Seuss Geisel than brilliant children’s books.  He was brilliant, period.  A lot of wisdom came from this man that could also be inspirational to adults…because, after all, isn’t that what children grow up to be?

This quote really speaks to me because lately I have been struggling with this.  I look at other people’s blogs and art journals and think, “Why can’t I paint/draw/journal/blog like that?”  I finally figured out why!  Because I am not them, I am ME!  Which led me to Zoe Ford‘s blog entry yesterday about perfectionism.  I think a lot of this “envy” of other people’s work stems from the insecurity that my work is not “perfect” like I perceive theirs to be.  So I stall.  I get stuck in my head and don’t even know how to begin.  Zoe suggests that we “Just start.”  I love that!  So after I wrote out the Dr. Seuss quote, without really thinking about how “perfect” my lettering might be, I just started doodling these flowers.  They are certainly not perfect flowers.  I’m not a natural doodler.  But they are MY flowers.  I like them.  They are quirky, like me.

So take the advice from my friends.  Be yourself.  Just start.  It doesn’t get much simpler than that.

blogalongbutton

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shirley Douglass
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 18:07:00

    I just love Dr Suess! Have always thought what he put in books was for people of all ages. Noticed it when I first started reading them to my children.

    Reply

    • Raine
      Aug 28, 2013 @ 18:54:35

      I’m glad you enjoyed it, Shirley! The only Seuss book I had was the dictionary. And I can’t tell you how often I read it. A dictionary!!! I was a strange kid! But one of our neighbors had most of the books, so I got the read them there.

      Reply

  2. jEtana
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 21:28:32

    Love the quote you chose, and the art you created! YOU are such a lovely you!

    Reply

  3. Dawn Zichko
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 22:52:12

    Raine, I am glad you are you and create in your own unique way!

    Reply

  4. scribblenpaint
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 05:26:38

    How boring life would be if we were all the same. Love the quote and the flowers 🙂

    Reply

  5. ruth brightman
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 06:56:00

    so true Raine! you are an inspiration!

    Reply

  6. Zoe @ Top Floor Treasures
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 15:14:27

    Yeah!! Go YOU!! Proud of you Raine-bow ❤

    Reply

  7. Raine
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 16:26:50

    Thanks, Zoe! I get by with a little help from my friends! 😉

    Reply

  8. Judy Shea
    Sep 03, 2013 @ 18:50:47

    “I get by with a little help from my friends….” – The Beatles

    Reply

Leave a Reply

