Zentangle

After Zoe Ford posted one of her Zendoodles the other day, I was inspired to do a Zentangle-inspired page in my journal.  (click on image to enlarge)

IMG_0437

I don’t want to engage in a dissertation on the why Zentangling is “just doodling.”  If you want that information, I suggest you read here:  http://www.zentangle.com/index.php?tion=com_content&view=article&id=10&Itemid=120 .

For me, Zentangle gives me direction.  I am not a natural doodler.  People are always saying that “everyone” knows how to doodle.  Not true!  I am at a total loss.  I end up writing my favorite word, over and over: pneumonoultramicroscopicsilicovolcanoconiosis.   I learned it in 7th grade and never forgot it.  Obviously!  (By the way, that long word just means black lung disease from inhaling coal dust.)

I am a CZT – a Certified Zentangle Teacher.  I was in the 3rd Certification class taught by Rick Roberts and Maria Thomas, the developers of Zentangle.  I don’t teach.  I just wanted to learn from the source.  I still need to refer to either books, notes or the new Tangle Cards by Sandy Steen Bartholomew, CZT.  

So every now and then I’ll pull out my class notebook or one of my other sources of inspiration and Tangle.  It’s so nice to have a reference point with directions and everything I need.  This allows me to drop into that meditative space that just lets me go with the flow.  It’s sooooo relaxing.

I know, I know…this sounds like a commercial!  That isn’t my intention.  I simply wanted to let you know what I’ve been doing.  There are many art forms that I enjoy.  Zentangle is just one of them.  I also like to paint, journal, and blog.  I find them all relaxing in their own ways.  I also love to read.  I encourage you to find something that is relaxing for YOU.  Find several!  That way, if you aren’t in the mood for one, you can work on another.  

blogalongbutton

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Zoe @ Top Floor Treasures
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 15:07:39

    Great! Love your journal page ❤

    Reply

  2. Dawn Burnside
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 16:43:10

    We have a lot in common Raine, I love to zentangle, but I have a lot of other art things that I also love, & depending on the mood there’s always something I can pick up & continue workin’ on. I really like your journal page.

    Reply

  3. sweetredclover
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 21:07:24

    I love your tangle too! Especially the ‘G’ and the ones at the top and bottom of the page! I always think other people’s are so pretty, but I am SO impatient with it…I know the point is to go ‘zen’ but I always go the opposite direction! (rabid monkey jacked up on Mountain Dew and cocaine…) But your pretty tangles are making me want to try again! BEAUTIFUL PAGE…BEAUTIFUL JUST LIKE YOU!!! ❤ ❤ ❤

    Reply

    • Raine
      Aug 29, 2013 @ 22:48:25

      Thank you, thank you , thank you!!! ❤ You like the swirly ones! Me, too. We're swirly girls!! I get impatient, too. That's why sometimes I just NEED to tangle. It's one of the few things like that, that I can do. Even then I still get impatient sometimes but I make myself take a deep breath and relax. It really helps to have some direction. This was a very fun page. ❤

      Reply

  4. Marilynn
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 23:03:02

    I just started zentanling… and I love it! So Zen (lol) I’m not very good at meditation but find it easy when tangling 🙂 Thanks for sharing yours.

    Reply

    • Raine
      Aug 29, 2013 @ 23:09:29

      Thanks! I can’t meditate, either. My brain goes crazy! But this I can do. It’s active meditation. Something to think about while not thinking…if that makes sense. 😉

      Reply

  5. Janelle
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 06:39:28

    It helps me to “unblock”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

