29 Faces in September

I must be some sort of glutton for punishment.  I just finished the “Thirty Posts in Thirty Days” challenge and now I’ve committed to “29 Faces in September”!  Last night I drew my first face of the month.  I was just going to post the pencil drawing because I haven’t painted many faces and I’m not that confident yet.

Then I saw ‘s blog post today.  She truly inspires me.  She painted a wonderful, loose watercolor pencil face.  It’s adorable!  Michelle reminded us that “it’s just about practice.”  It’s supposed to be fun!  This challenge isn’t about making masterpieces.  It’s about just doing it!  Practice is the only way to improve a skill.  Making 29 faces in a month is a lot of practice!

So I grabbed my Crayola watercolor paints that I keep by my chair, picked up my trusty water brush and went for it!  I’m pretty happy with her!  (click on image to enlarge)

IMG_0450

If I had waited until I felt “inspired” to go up to my studio, I then would have agonized over which medium to use, what colors I needed, whether or not to correct any “imperfections” in my drawing, this wouldn’t have gotten finished until very late tonight.  And I probably wouldn’t be nearly as happy with it as I am with this one.  But I just jumped in with what I had on hand.  I think that is in keeping with the spirit of this challenge.

So…one face done, twenty-eight to go.  I can do this!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sweetredclover
    Sep 01, 2013 @ 17:06:23

    Woo Hoo! I love her eyes especially and her lips and hair too! She’s beautiful!!! That’s a great point about jumping in and doing it, because it’s the only way to get better! Nobody ever gets better by just sitting there and thinking about it (says the person who is SO guilty of doing that…was…was guilty…no more!), you’ve just gotta do it! I got my first face done today too! (I’m so happy that I didn’t fail on the first day! Huzzah!) I think I’m going to end up doing a mix of simple faces (mostly) and at least one or two more complex ones…I wish I could make a fancy face every day, but I just don’t have time to do it (ACCURSED DAY JOB!!!) And I want to try things that are out of my usual… I’m so excited! Happy you are doing this challenge too, and I can’t wait to see what tomorrow’s face will be!!! ❤ ❤ ❤

    Reply

    • Raine
      Sep 01, 2013 @ 18:40:41

      Thanks, Sweets! I’m sure mine will be a mixture of sketches and paintings. It takes me too long to do a complete painting every day. But I’m going to do the best I can! Love to you!

      Reply

  2. Faye
    Sep 01, 2013 @ 20:59:33

    She’s so beautiful. How I’d love to have those big beautiful eyes.

    Reply

  3. Maria Medeiros
    Sep 01, 2013 @ 23:09:14

    Wonderful! Love her independence feel. she looks like she has things under control. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Susan
    Sep 01, 2013 @ 23:56:03

    You have painted a lovely lady.

    Reply

  5. rose
    Sep 02, 2013 @ 17:13:46

    Jumping in with what’s on hand is a great way to go, eh? An idea that applies to life as well as art!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

