Self-Care

Today I got a massage.  It was wonderful.  It always is.  I have the best massage therapist I’ve ever been to and I can’t even imagine anyone better.  Thanks, Janet!  I’ve been going to her for probably 10 years or so. She has also become a wonderful friend.

This is how I feel after one of Janet’s massages.  (click image to enlarge)

IMG_0469

Whenever possible, I get a massage about every two weeks.  It’s an important part of my self-care practice.  It helps to loosen up tight muscles and helps me with my chronic pain issues.  Janet’s a whiz with the hot stones!  She massages my back with them and goes up and down my arms and legs with them.  She has a bigger one she puts on my belly for a while.  Heavenly!   She has even put small warm stones between each of my toes then wrapped my whole foot in warm towels.  Oh, joy!  Oh, rapture!

Janet’s practice is in her home.  When she’s all done with my massage, she tells me to take my time getting up.  Sometimes I like to tease her and tell her to wake me for supper!  So my visits with her are more than just getting a body work session.  It’s a few hours of hanging out with my friend.  There just happens to be about an hour and a quarter to an hour an a half where I’m getting my body worked on!  I bring my journals or the project from my latest class.  She is one of my greatest supporters, so her ooo-ing and ahhh-ing are also good for my self-confidence!  Sometimes we’ll even go shopping for art supplies afterward!

I really look forward to my massage days.  It’s important for me on many levels.  What are you doing to take care of yourself?

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sweetredclover
    Sep 03, 2013 @ 23:46:26

    Ooh…I think I need a Janet! I’m so happy that you have real life supporters (in addition to your internet soul sister…aka me!)! Real life supporters are truly a fantastic thing!

    Beautiful face yet again! I LOVE this gal’s lips and hair! And I REALLY like the background! (Green is my favorite color!!!) ❤ ❤ ❤

    Reply

    • Raine
      Sep 04, 2013 @ 01:07:14

      Everyone needs a Janet!!!! Yup, I need my real life peeps. I need people I can hug!!! I can send you virtual hugs…cuz I love my soul sister!…but it’s just not quite the same. The love is the same…just not the hugs. YOU know what I mean! You understand the convoluted way my brain works. That should scare the crap out of you! That is doesn’t only proves to me that we truly are soul sisters!

      Thanks for the compliments on my girl. Isn’t the purple hair fun? I’ve never done that before…or the hairdo. I was just wild tonight! The background pattern is from StencilGirls. Green’s one of MY favorite colors, too! It’s the heart chakra color.

      Reply

  2. Cindy Easter
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 01:42:47

    I know I need a Janet! That sounds heavenly! Your girl is beautiful, Raine. Not a care on her face … very serene. I love your color combination, as well. xo

    Reply

    • Raine
      Sep 04, 2013 @ 02:14:56

      Thanks, Cindy! I’ll have to make sure Janet sees this post! I was so relaxed that I didn’t really think too much about the colors and just let them happen. I love them, too! 😀

      Reply

  3. Ila East
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 10:17:52

    She looks so relaxed. Great job.

    Reply

  4. gloria
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 11:13:13

    How wonderful. I’ve been thinking on that for a while and it’s time. I need that. Great work Raine. She sparkles and looks very relaxed.
    gloria

    Reply

  5. Faye
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 15:08:23

    I love your so-relaxed girl in your beautiful painting. She looks like she enjoyed her day at the masseuse’s.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

