Trying Colored Pencils

For today’s face, which is the 5th of 29, I used colored pencils.  It’s the first time I have used them to make a face.  I’ve used them for shading on mixed media pieces but never on their own for an entire piece.  (click on image to enlarge)

IMG_0489

It wasn’t until I photographed it that I noticed she’s a bit crooked, especially her mouth. I tried to fix that afterward. You don’t want to see that! I’m just glad I have a photo of THIS version. She’s a little streaky but I’m sure, with practice, I’ll learn how to color more smoothly.  But I’m very happy with the shading, the lights in her eyes and her hair.

I’m proud of myself for trying something new. And actually posting it. It’s hard to put something out there that you aren’t really happy with. But art is a big learning curve. Especially with mixed media where you aren’t focusing on a particular medium. I’m getting more comfortable with acrylics. I frequently use colored pencil to do the blush on my acrylic faces.  I have more control with them in that format.

Five down, twenty-four to go!  I wonder what I’ll try tomorrow…

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shirley Douglass
    Sep 06, 2013 @ 12:49:53

    Yes it is very hard to post things when we see the flaws in them. And we are all very critical of our own work. For instance I like her mouth. I also love her beautiful eyes and her hair is such fun!
    The thing that is helping me to try something and put it out there in this 29 faces challenge is that the challenge isn’t “who can do the best.” I mean, I could not even come close to some of these ladies art work. It is more about practice and venturing out to expand your own work and knowledge at what ever level that might be. So practice, try new things, and practice some more. 🙂

    Reply

    • Raine
      Sep 06, 2013 @ 15:02:40

      Thanks, Shirley! I wish I hadn’t changed her mouth. The more I look at this, the more I like it. My new rule…if I don’t like something, I can’t change it until the next day, at least!
      You are SO right about this challenge. Practice and only strive to get better than my own work. Not competing against other artists. There certainly are many levels here. I like that!

      Reply

  2. Janelle
    Sep 07, 2013 @ 18:21:16

    Did you use a colorless blender? I tries that the other day and it wasn’t good.
    I love the hair and the mouth!!

    Reply

    • Raine
      Sep 07, 2013 @ 21:48:52

      Thanks, Janelle! The blender sucked, in my opinion! I love her hair, too. I wish I hadn’t tried to “fix” her mouth after I took the pic!

      Reply

  3. Faye
    Sep 07, 2013 @ 18:41:42

    Wonderful to try something new and succeed at it grandly!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

