Face 6 of 29

I went back to my comfort zone today and painted with acrylics.  I spent quite a bit of time on the background because that’s very relaxing for me.  I was super happy with everything but then the hair got a little out of hand. She must have just washed it and she can’t do a thing with it!  😉  After I took the photo, I added a light pencil line at her jawline to give it more definition.   (click on image to enlarge)

IMG_0500

I took my time with this face today.  I relaxed more.  The background was inspired by Dyan Reaveley.  I took some classes with her last year and this is very similar to how she taught us to do them.  What I like about it is that I don’t really have to think about it.  There are certain elements to it that feel very comfortable to me…like the circles and lines that look like they have shadows.  I find that a really fun process.  I also stamped some of my favorite designs around the background.  I had a mask over where the face would be so that I’d have a clean area for it.

I’m learning a few little tricks as I progress.  They say practice makes perfect.  I don’t aspire to perfect.  I don’t think perfection really exists.  What I aspire to is “better.” Better than my previous work.  Only better than myself.  There is no room for comparison with others.  That only leads to frustration.  Not that I don’t get frustrated with myself! There are days when I just can’t seem to get anything right. The key is to work through it. I’m sure even the best artists have bad days. I don’t expect all of my 29 faces to be gorgeous.  But I AM learning. That’s what this challenge is helping me with. And fun…gotta have fun.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michelle LaPoint Rydell
    Sep 06, 2013 @ 23:33:20

    She is so pretty! You are awesome at skin tone my friend! Beautiful! and I especially love her nose, and well all of her features!

    Reply

  2. rose
    Sep 07, 2013 @ 06:39:22

    Challenge and fun.
    If you ask me, that’s what life is all about. And love. Love, challenge and fun. 🙂
    Keep enjoying!

    Reply

  3. Annie
    Sep 07, 2013 @ 08:07:55

    Very pretty. I am an acrylics girl myself, I still like to add the occasional pen and pencil work on top of the acrylic. But am also happy just with the paint 🙂

    Reply

  4. Faye
    Sep 07, 2013 @ 18:40:09

    Her hair is gorgeous. What a beautiful color.

    Reply

  5. Shirley Douglass
    Sep 09, 2013 @ 11:13:07

    I love her eyes! You are doing so great with the eyes! You are definitely learning and that is why we both did this 29 faces. And your background is great! I love the circles and lines too. I know what you mean…they are comfortable to me. I think today I will do acrylic and I will have circles and lines :-). Of course don’t hold me to it, I could change my mind by the time I stair at the blank paper for a minute.

    Reply

    • Raine
      Sep 09, 2013 @ 13:33:45

      Thanks, Shirley! I’m really having fun doing eyes. Once I have the basic shape, either stamp, stencil or by hand, it’s fun to play with color, shading and different effects.
      Have fun with it, Shirley!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

