Roaring 20’s

I have always said that I was born in the wrong time.  If I had lived in the 1920’s, I would have been a flapper! So I chose to paint one today.  (click on image to enlarge)

IMG_0505

I attached a glittery headband to her hair and stuck a feather into it, as was popular at that time.  I gave her little spaghetti straps for her flapper dress.  Lots of black around her eyes was used to represent the kohl frequently used by the flappers.  Of course, she also has those ruby red lips that were so scandalous!

I was fortunate enough to be invited to the Art Deco exhibit at the Boston Museum of Fine Arts a few years ago. They had an entire case full of clothing from the era.  There were flapper dresses absolutely encrusted with beads.  There was lots of fringe and feathers.  Caps and headdresses were on display.  I’m surprised I wasn’t drooling on the glass! I am always drawn to movies depicting that era.  Perhaps I have a romanticized idea of the era. That’s fine with me. I’m just a romantic at heart.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Patricia Ross Lacroix
    Sep 07, 2013 @ 22:25:22

    Loved the 20’s ;D She’s got great eyes and perfect hair Raine.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

