My New Journal

There is something else that I love to do as much as blogging and working in my journals.  I love to MAKE journals.  I hardly ever work in a pre-made journal.  It almost feels like cheating to me!  I have, on occasion, used old books and altered them to use as journals.  But I absolutely LOVE making them from scratch.  (I want to apologize to my non-artist friends.  This is a technique-heavy entry. I hope you will at least enjoy the photos.)

My current journal was made from three sheets of 24″ X 30″ 140lb. Wausau paper, pre-primed floor cloth canvas and waxed linen thread.  I was originally intending to make a regular journal, which would open up into 2-page spreads. However, when I started tearing down the large sheets, I realized that by tearing them into three 24″ X 10″ long strips, I would either end up with 12″ wide pages or I’d have to cut a section off of each strip and end up with a pile of odd papers to deal with.  Then I came up with a third option.  I folded the strips into thirds, making an extra page on every other spread! I liked that idea. I figured the worse that could happen was that if I didn’t like it, I could still just cut off the third page. So I cut three sheets of paper into a total of nine 10″ strips, folded them into threes and grouped them into three signatures of three strips each. I alternated the extra pages so that every other one would open to the left and the alternate ones would open to the right. Then I bound them to a floor cloth canvas cover with the waxed linen thread. I’m really happy with how it turned out.

One of my journal sisters asked me to post some photos of my journal.  It wouldn’t have looked like much if I’d photographed it when it was empty so now that I’ve worked in it, I took some pix of it. I didn’t bother photographing the cover because I haven’t decorated it yet. It’s just plain canvas right now. I’ll post a photo when it’s decorated. (click on images to enlarge)

This is a 2-page spread with one of the third pages closed over the previous page.

IMG_0507

Here are those same pages with the 3rd page open.

IMG_0508

This is the next page, fully opened.

IMG_0509

This shows the next spread with the single page turned and the third page opened.  I left the previous third page open so that you could see what happens when two alternate 3-page spreads are open.

IMG_0510

I hope you liked a little peek into my newest journal.  It’s the most different one I have ever made. It’s sort of a challenge to work in.  I also have to be mindful of what is underneath the page I’m working on so that I don’t accidentally let paint crawl under the edges! This is going to look awesome when it’s full!!!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. fluffyash
    Sep 08, 2013 @ 17:42:52

    So cleaver and you do such a neat job. My journals are all whacky doo and splattered with who knows what. These are simple marvelous my talented friend!

    Reply

    • Raine
      Sep 08, 2013 @ 18:17:51

      Thanks, Jackie! It’ll be plenty splattered by the time I’m done with it! That’s why I haven’t painted the cover yet. It’s gonna just get all crappy!!!

      Reply

  2. Janelle
    Sep 08, 2013 @ 19:47:03

    So awesome!!

    Reply

  3. sweetredclover
    Sep 09, 2013 @ 19:45:23

    My Raine! You sexy, talented beast, you! This journal is AWESOME!!! I love the ‘extra’ pages! What an awesome idea and a supply saver too…or at least you didn’t have to figure out what to do with those extra little strips you would have had if you would have just done half folds! You are just amazing!!! ❤ ❤ ❤

    Reply

    • Raine
      Sep 09, 2013 @ 22:02:36

      Hi Sweets. My sweet, juicy woman! Thanks! I do the best I can with what I have. It was lots of fun…crawling around on the living room floor with huge sheets of paper and a metal ruler. Not so much. I got rug burn on my knees and I didn’t even enjoy that much! Damn!

      Reply

  4. Cindy Easter
    Sep 13, 2013 @ 14:24:21

    Great journal, Raine! So that makes your journal about 8″ x 10″? I never was great at math! And I was going to ask, just how DO you keep the pages so neat and tidy. I always get paint over on the edges of my already done pages. I guess it adds character, but my inner critic doesn’t like it one bit, the little bitch! She gives me crap about it ALL.THE.TIME! Your girls are beautiful, too!

    Reply

    • Raine
      Sep 13, 2013 @ 16:01:37

      Thanks, Cindy!You really made me laugh! My inner critic hates that, too. I’m just a bit obsessive when I work. I put deli paper underneath the page I’m working on to minimize messy edges…but they still happen sometimes and I just have to tell the bitch to shut up! In fact, my whole journal is wrapped in deli paper because I hate getting the covers messy! Working on a fold-out page is really a pain because my desk is very small. I did one like that yesterday. I’ll be blogging it tonight. Your math is right… 8×10.

      > Date: Fri, 13 Sep 2013 18:24:24 +0000 > To: aqualuna13@msn.com >

      Reply

Leave a Reply

