Queen Bee

There is a strange phenomenon in many art forms where suddenly the piece will start to take on a life of its own. It will start to suggest where to go next. Sometimes this happens in one fell swoop, at other times it happens in stages. That’s want happened to tonight’s painting. The only idea I had, if you can even call it much of an idea, was to use a stencil for the face. I hadn’t even decided which stencil! While I was out this afternoon, I got one of the new face stencils from The Crafters Workshop, designed by Julie Fei-Fan Balzer. Let’s start with that! This is what I ended up with.  (click on image for more detail)

IMG_0539

I just started by tracing the stencil.  Then I decided to try the new purple paint I picked up when I got the stencil. What to do next…  Hey, I have that honeycomb stencil and a really opaque yellow paint that would really contrast nicely with the purple!  Now it’s starting to lead me along. At that point, it was time to start painting the face. I mixed up my base and painted that on. I wasn’t in the mood to mix up my usual pinkish blush/shade color. What about those chalk pastels I have? I’ll bet they’ll be easier to blend. There, in the box, was the absolute perfect color! It made the face look more cohesive with the yellows in the background. The pink wouldn’t have worked as well. It’s a good thing I was listening to my intuition! Once I finished the girl, I got the title…Queen Bee! So I stamped the title on and jazzed it up with a little more of the yellow paint. I finished up with a trio of bees, even putting a touch of iridescent medium on their wings to give them some depth.

There you have her.  My Queen Bee!  Where will you let your intuition lead you?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. SL Scheibe
    Sep 12, 2013 @ 10:41:59

    She’s lovely! I like your color choices with the warm yellows and oranges. Like summer 🙂

    Reply

  2. Shirley Douglass
    Sep 12, 2013 @ 11:00:00

    Love this. Thanks for sharing your thought process. I always find that interesting. Makes the picture come alive for me.

    Reply

    • Raine
      Sep 12, 2013 @ 15:06:26

      Thanks, Shirley! I love when others do that, so I figured it would work for me, too. I knew I couldn’t be the only person who liked the “behind the scenes” thought process!

      Reply

  3. sweetredclover
    Sep 13, 2013 @ 07:17:29

    Ooh Raine! She is Bee-utiful!!! I am in LOVE with your lettering on “Queen Bee” and the colors you chose are just perfect! It made me smile…bee page for the bee savior!!! Love ya! <3<3<3

    Reply

    • Raine
      Sep 13, 2013 @ 14:52:58

      Thanks, my darling Sweets!!! It took me ages to pick out the stamps for the lettering. I love how feminine these are. ‘Cuz I’m all about the feminine! Love, Love, Love!!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

