Finding My Whimsy Style

After my success Friday night with my playtime face, I decided to try another one last night. Again, after drawing the basic face shape, I drew in her hair. I wish the original swirls showed up better in the photo, but at least the lighter orange sort of mimics them.  (click on image to enlarge)

IMG_0556

Her face came together quite quickly. I didn’t overly fuss with the eyes, like I usually do. The nose and lips were much easier than usual, as well. As I did the night before, I started coloring her by painting the hair. I used two different shades of orange, one of which is a duo-toned paint, giving it some sheen and energy. The eyes were colored with two different blue Pitt Big Brush pens and a black Sharpie pen. All of the details were done with the Sharpie pen, too. I colored the lips with a marker. For her skin, I again turned to my box of pastels. I found that my best blending tool is my finger. That’s very handy. Finger…handy…get it? *rolling with giggles*

All of this took less than an hour and I never felt stressed out. Evidently I have found my Whimsy style. When I want to just play and have fun, whimsy girls will more than likely be my fallback. I still want to work on my more realistic faces, although I don’t foresee myself trying for the level of realism that is almost photographic. That takes more patience and time than I really want to spend. It’s all about the fun! That’s the prevailing theme in my work.

I  hope you enjoy my newest Whimsy Girl. After all, the world could use a little more whimsy!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ladynorth
    Sep 16, 2013 @ 02:46:07

    I love the fact that she looks as if she is about to pucker up and blow a kiss!
    Blessings on your week ahead dear Raine: so glad you are part of the blogging world: shine on.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

