Another Whimsy Girl

Last night’s face didn’t come as easily as my first two Whimsy Girls. I think I started to become too attached to the outcome again and I was “working” at it instead of playing. (click on image to enlarge)

IMG_0564

With my first two Whimsy Girls, I had started with the basic face shape, then the hair. With this one, I got stuck on what to do with the hair. So I drew the face first. I started coloring the lips and eyes with watercolor until I realized the water was bleeding through a little to the face on the other side of the page! Oops! After I made sure the watercolor was completely dry, I enhanced the lips and eyes with colored pencils. It was at that point that I decided to put her hair in an up-do. At first it was a little too severe, so I added to the sides, giving her more of a Gibson Girl style. I added some tendrils and a few little wisps at her forehead. Although it’s hard to tell in the photograph, her hair is actually bright pink with lavender highlights! I finished up with chalk pastels for her skin and the background.

I need to find a resource for hair styles. With that information, I’ll be able to relax more into my drawing. I’m really starting to feel more confident drawing these faces on my own. This 29 Faces challenge has helped me tremendously. It’s given me the practice that I needed. Faces used to intimidate me but the more I do, the more comfortable I become with them. I just needed a push to get me started.

It’s hard to believe that this challenge is already half over. I’ve drawn 15 faces! I have learned something with every one of them. I wish I had started practicing them long ago. They are so much fun! But I’m a procrastinator. I kept putting it off. Out of fear. Fear of failure. But you have to risk failure to make progress.

Are you putting something off out of fear? I challenge you to just start. Right now. You’ll be so glad you did.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shirley Douglass
    Sep 16, 2013 @ 11:33:39

    LOL I was just thinking how much trouble I have with hair styles. Hard to figure out something to try so you don’t keep doing the same thing. So if you figure something out, let me know. I need it too.

    Reply

  2. fluffyash
    Sep 16, 2013 @ 23:42:09

    Your faces are all very well done and the hair is really stylish here!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

