Four Sketches

Last night I didn’t feel my Muse calling me to paint a large face. However, she did seem to feel I could benefit from doing a few sketches, including a profile. This also gave me a chance to try out a few hair styles. (click on image to enlarge)

IMG_0579

This page already had the feathers stamped on it from when I was cleaning the excess ink off of the stamps from a previous project. I thought they made a nice backdrop for the sketches. I really enjoyed drawing these. I tried not to over-think them as I drew. I wanted them to happen organically rather than being overly fussy. This really helped loosen me up.

These aren’t the best faces I’ve ever drawn but I like them all. The profile was the most difficult. Profiles have always been challenging for me. Before I took my first art class, all of my profiles looked like Neanderthals. Seriously! They were really bad! What made them so terrible was that I didn’t understand how to make the lips. I didn’t allow for the slight protrusion at the top of the upper lip, the contours where the lips met and the soft roundness of the lower lip. These are still a challenge for me, but I am definitely seeing improvement.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shirley Douglass
    Sep 18, 2013 @ 15:48:38

    I really like these. I enjoy doing sketches and don’t think every face we draw has to be a large painted face. Definitely do what makes you happy. 🙂 I haven’t tried a profile yet. But I will. LOL

    I love the stamps you have. Do you know which ones they are?

    Reply

    • Raine
      Sep 18, 2013 @ 16:08:46

      Thanks, Shirley! I really enjoyed doing the sketches.
      The stamps are by Alisa Burke. She sells them on her website. I think I have every one of her red rubber stamps!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

