Face 21

I’m glad I was able to get a little ahead on the 29 Faces challenge with my sketches yesterday. It has let me feel a bit more relaxed, without the pressure of having to do a face every day. Sometimes a girl just needs a day off! But when I woke up this morning my head was buzzing with ideas. I couldn’t wait to get to my studio to see who would show up in my journal! (click on image to enlarge)

IMG_0597

SHE was a bit of a surprise! I used one of Jane Davenport’s face stencils again. (I love them!) I am really happy with how her eyes came out. I’m getting better at giving them a bit of depth by using more than one color. When I was trying to decide what to do about her hair, I remembered that once I had used Adirondack Paint Dabbers to dab some curls on one of my girls. I had used a brown, then highlighted it with yellow. Today I wanted to try black hair. I hardly ever paint black hair because it tends to look flat. I figured that after dabbing the black, I could come back and dab on some white highlights. As I started to dab, I noticed that if I dabbed lightly, it didn’t make a solid circle, it left its own highlight, so I didn’t have to go back and add them! Cool! I made her skin a little darker than I usually do and used deeper colors for her cheeks and lips. I added the border at the top and stenciled the word DREAM. I spiffed up the gold around the word and the centers of the stars in the border with some glitter glue.

I’m really having fun playing with all of these faces. I find that I’m stressing a lot less about the details and just enjoying myself. I look forward to seeing who is going to show up on my page each day. They never come out as I imagine them but I love them all.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. fluffyash
    Sep 19, 2013 @ 22:52:54

    Glad your just chillaxing the faces are wonderful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

