Morning Pages and Washi Tape

As part of Julia Cameron’s “The Artist’s Way,” writing three pages, longhand and stream of consciousness, first thing in the morning, is referred to as Morning Pages. The idea behind the practice is to clear out the mind of extraneous chatter by putting it in writing. It also forces you to create *something* every day, even if it’s just a gripe list. It can be very meditative. I first went through the self-study program about 15 years ago. I faithfully wrote my three pages every day. After a few years I started adding little quotes I had cut out, stickers I thought were cute, pictures I had torn from magazines. In other words, it evolved into an art journal before I even knew what an art journal was!

Several months ago I decided to start writing Morning Pages again, in addition to my art journal. Since I now had a separate journal for each purpose, I didn’t need anything too fancy for my Morning Pages. Did I? My current MP journal had a bare black cover with just a stripe of orange across it.  Wanna see it now?

Front Cover

IMG_0622

Back Cover

IMG_0618

For anyone who isn’t aware of this phenomenon, making the rounds in the art and craft worlds now is a product called “washi tape.” Washi translates to Japanese tape. It is a decorative paper tape, originally from, you guessed it…Japan! A lot of it still does. But many American companies have jumped on the bandwagon and are now producing these colorful tapes. There’s only one problem…they are addictive! They’re like potato chips. You can’t have just one! I admit it, I’m addicted to washi tape. I love the stuff. Can’t get enough of it. I have it in every color of the rainbow and in amazing, awesome designs. Since I have so much of it, it goes on anything that doesn’t move. I’m sure my husband worries that some morning he’s going to wake up covered in washi tape! So, naturally, after working in this blank, black journal for a while, my eyes stopped on that orange line with the brand name on it and I thought, “I have the perfect tape to go over that line to cover the writing.” A few days later I got this awesome tape with elephants and butterflies on it. (I have no idea *why* those creatures are on tape together. All I know is I love it.) It would look perfect above that orange stripe. And the rest, as they say, is history. Over the following few weeks, I managed to decorate both the front and back covers with washi tape. I love it!

I hope you found something interesting here to investigate. Whether it be The Artist’s Way with Morning Pages, which I highly recommend, or washi tape, to start your own addiction collection. Try something new. Who knows where it might lead?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Debbie Grace
    Sep 20, 2013 @ 23:16:52

    Still smiling after reading this . . . yes, I, too, do love me some washi tape! 🙂

    Reply

    • Raine
      Sep 20, 2013 @ 23:32:26

      Debbie, I’m glad I could make you smile. Part of me wants to count how many rolls of tape I have. But another part of me is afraid…very afraid… 😉

      > Date: Sat, 21 Sep 2013 03:16:55 +0000
      > To: aqualuna13@msn.com
      >

      Reply

  2. fluffyash
    Sep 21, 2013 @ 00:54:04

    What a pretty way to cover your journal!

    Reply

  3. ladynorth
    Sep 21, 2013 @ 02:13:04

    Hey Raine! We missed you tonight at the WTAA meeting, but that’s ok, no one else showed up either.Turned out that our local Daiso store was open late and they had a new stock of washi (fabric) tape just come in off the plane from Japan! If you want to see what your sister washi tape addict ‘s mini haul looks like: hop on over to my blog..
    (Lol) Warning Danger Will Robinson!

    Reply

    • Raine
      Sep 21, 2013 @ 03:20:24

      OMG! You are TOO funny! Hi, my name is Raine and I’m a Washi Tape Addict… what’s that? there’s a new load of tape in where?Sorry…Gotta go! *rolling with giggles*

      > Date: Sat, 21 Sep 2013 06:13:05 +0000 > To: aqualuna13@msn.com >

      Reply

  4. Shirley Douglass
    Sep 21, 2013 @ 10:43:31

    OK Raine, where do you buy most of your Washi tape? Do you buy it mostly on line or in stores? I am new to the Washi tape thing and only have 10 different patterns. I need more. Have been limiting myself to 2 taps a month. I see the best tapes on line, but then there’s the shipping fee and that makes the taps so expensive. I need more Raine! Where should I go?

    Reply

    • Raine
      Sep 21, 2013 @ 18:11:29

      I do get most of my tape online. There are several sellers on Etsy with some really amazing tapes. I agree that the shipping can be expensive, especially if you only buy one or two rolls. But if you buy larger quantities, like *I* do, the shipping doesn’t feel all that bad! 😉 However, Michaels is now carrying tape and it’s reasonably priced. You should check them out.

      > Date: Sat, 21 Sep 2013 14:43:31 +0000
      > To: aqualuna13@msn.com
      >

      Reply

Leave a Reply

