Cabaret

This afternoon I started my painting with nothing in particular in mind. I painted the background with a few pinks, created some visual texture with punchinella and added the circle and line elements. The only thing I had planned out was the shape of the face, which I masked off before painting the background. Now for the hair. I started sketching with a pencil when, suddenly, I got the idea for asymmetrical bangs! The face came together from there.  (click on image to enlarge)

Cabaret

Her hair reminded me of Liza Minnelli in the movie “Cabaret.” With that in mind, I made the lips a little poutier and painted them a rich, dark mauve. I exaggerated the size of her eyes and the volume of her eyelashes. I also gave her pencil-thin eyebrows to go with the look. Once she was all finished, all that was left was a title. I used Dyan Reaveley’s alphabet stamps for that. I thought her quirky letters were perfect for the page.

This is my 22nd face this month! Only 7 more to go to complete the challenge. I have no doubt that I’ll be able to do it. I hope you are enjoying it as much as I am.

Leave a Reply

