Updates Intimidate Me!

Yesterday I updated my iPad and all hell broke loose! First of all, the Kindle book I was reading was gone. I tried everything I knew, which, for me, is trying the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. Which is actually one of the definitions of insanity! So I did what I usually do after that. I called for my husband. “Cried” would really be a more accurate term. Have I ever told you that I don’t deal with change well? Well…I don’t.

Every question my hubby asked me got the same response, “I don’t know.” How did you install Kindle? “I don’t know.” How do you access apps? “I don’t know.” You get the picture. Fortunately, my husband has the patience of Job. He sat and tried quite a few things, getting his mojo going. Finally…success! My book was returned to me. Huzzah! There was much rejoicing in the land.

Later in the evening, I tried to upload the photo for last night’s blog post. You guessed it…nada, zip, bupkis. Another anguished cry for my husband. It took him a little while but he finally got it for me, then showed me how to do it myself. Which I had to do today. Guess what? Bupkis!!! This time I was more calm about it. I have the ultimate faith in my husband’s magic. I serenely requested his presence. It took him only a couple of minutes to point out that my iPad now asks me if I trust the computer I’m hooked up to. Every. Time. So, without further ado, here is Face #23. (click on image to enlarge)

IMG_0633

The moral of the story is that if you are a technophobe or a Luddite, either get over it and learn how to do it, or do what I did. Marry a programmer!