Updates Intimidate Me!

Yesterday I updated my iPad and all hell broke loose! First of all, the Kindle book I was reading was gone. I tried everything I knew, which, for me, is trying the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. Which is actually one of the definitions of insanity! So I did what I usually do after that. I called for my husband. “Cried” would really be a more accurate term. Have I ever told you that I don’t deal with change well? Well…I don’t.

Every question my hubby asked me got the same response, “I don’t know.” How did you install Kindle? “I don’t know.” How do you access apps? “I don’t know.” You get the picture. Fortunately, my husband has the patience of Job. He sat and tried quite a few things, getting his mojo going. Finally…success! My book was returned to me. Huzzah! There was much rejoicing in the land.

Later in the evening, I tried to upload the photo for last night’s blog post. You guessed it…nada, zip, bupkis. Another anguished cry for my husband. It took him a little while but he finally got it for me, then showed me how to do it myself. Which I had to do today. Guess what? Bupkis!!! This time I was more calm about it. I have the ultimate faith in my husband’s magic. I serenely requested his presence. It took him only a couple of minutes to point out that my iPad now asks me if I trust the computer I’m hooked up to. Every. Time. So, without further ado, here is Face #23. (click on image to enlarge)

IMG_0633

The moral of the story is that if you are a technophobe or a Luddite, either get over it and learn how to do it, or do what I did. Marry a programmer!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shirley Douglass
    Sep 22, 2013 @ 21:55:57

    You are very lucky to have such a wonderful husband that just happens to be a programmer. Neither of my ex-husbands new anything about computers or i Phones, Etc. so they would have been of no help to be at all. I was the one who had to figure it out with my very limited knowledge. The boy friend I had for several years 2007-11 (I think) thought he knew everything. Does that count? No not really. So you are lucky and he sounds like he is wonderful. πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • Raine
      Sep 22, 2013 @ 22:50:32

      Thanks, Shirley! I really am lucky. I think he was born with a computer mouse in his hand! He’s younger and was raised around computers and that makes a huge difference. He also has a natural gift for it.

      > Date: Mon, 23 Sep 2013 01:55:59 +0000 > To: aqualuna13@msn.com >

      Reply

  2. sweetredclover
    Sep 23, 2013 @ 00:45:25

    Hehehe…oh you made me laugh. I am the same way. If it weren’t for my husband, all digital clocks in the house would just read 12:00… He makes me laugh because he always tries to explain to me HOW to do it, or WHY things are doing it…and I always get the same blank look on my face, tune him out, and then holler at him the next time it messes up in the same way. I try to explain to him that I really don’t care how he fixes it, I just want him to fix it…but, in the same way I’ll never understand computers, he’ll never understand why I don’t want to learn more about them… πŸ™‚

    Reply

    • Raine
      Sep 23, 2013 @ 14:35:12

      OMG! We really ARE the same person! Hubby was pointing at the screen to show me what he was doing but he could have been pointing anywhere…his finger was about 6 inches away from the screen! It might have been clear from HIS angle but I didn’t have a clue what he was trying to show me. He made a comment about me being “unwilling” to learn but I tried to make him understand how intimidating it is for me. That it makes me feel stupid…and who wants that?!?!?!

      > Date: Mon, 23 Sep 2013 04:45:26 +0000 > To: aqualuna13@msn.com >

      Reply

  3. fluffyash
    Sep 23, 2013 @ 00:51:21

    Oh, my gosh, I so relate! They just came out with anew summthinaruther for my I phone, I wanted to pitch it out the window! My husband is not a programmer, but the patiences of Job, as well. I did the same routine, if I try this , maybe, okay that wasn’t it, maybe I should try it again, and again, and again! If it were for his patience, I would not have a computer, iPhone or this iPad. I swear No patience!

    Reply

    • Raine
      Sep 23, 2013 @ 14:39:13

      I’m so glad it’s not just ME! I also don’t text. My phone is for phone calls! If I have the phone in my hand, it’s WAY easier to talk to someone than text. I really don’t understand the whole concept. Hubby might send off a quick text to his buddies to let them all know he’s running late for his get-together. That’s easier than calling 3 or 4 guys. THAT I understand. But other than that…I’d just rather talk!

      > Date: Mon, 23 Sep 2013 04:51:21 +0000 > To: aqualuna13@msn.com >

      Reply

  4. Michelle LaPoint Rydell
    Sep 23, 2013 @ 01:17:26

    Hi Raine! Sorry I’ve been away. I’m loving your faces! This one is especially beautiful! Her eyes and lips are just gorgeous! I hope you are doing well!

    Reply

    • Raine
      Sep 23, 2013 @ 14:43:28

      Thanks, Michelle! I’ve missed you but I understand that people get busy! We have real life situations and lots of fun classes to keep up with. We artsy types have a lot going on! I need to head over to *your* blog, too.I’m glad you like my faces. I’ve learned a lot. But I’ll be glad when this is over so I can start painting something else for a while. πŸ˜‰

      > Date: Mon, 23 Sep 2013 05:17:27 +0000
      > To: aqualuna13@msn.com
      >

      Reply

Leave a Reply

