Bonus Frida

Today’s face (#28, by the way!) is the result of not wanting to waste paint. In fact, most of the page came about that way. You see, when I have finished painting, I generally still have some paint left on my palette. I use that paint on another page to start a background. When I’ve used a stencil, and there is paint left on it, I clean the stencil by putting it on either a blank page or a page with other “clean up” elements on it, and wipe toward the center of the stencil with a baby wipe or damp paper towel. That gives me a lighter, sometimes looser, version of the stencil. That is how I got this image of Frida, as well as the flower in her hair and her signature. (click on image to enlarge)

IMG_0662

The background is the result of previous clean ups. I added the two roses on the side and their leaves, as well as the leaves at the top. I think the page came together well.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. maria Medeiros
    Sep 29, 2013 @ 00:12:21

    wonderful!!!

    Reply

  2. TMartin
    Sep 29, 2013 @ 07:04:21

    What a great use of extra paint! I actually do that too–I’ve been printing my little lino blocks of faces on the backs of envelopes to use the rest of the ink. Now I just have to write letters to people so I can send the envelopes!

    And what a great effect too! I really really like this! Beautiful background, and lovely, simple face. Gorgeous!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

