Success! Face 29

I have successfully completed the 29 Faces challenge! I had a few doubts along the way but I was determined to stick with this. Here is Face 29. (click on image to enlarge)

IMG_0670

It’s been a very trying day and I *almost* gave in to the temptation of posting a previously painted face. But I really wanted to have produced all 29 faces this month. This page started as another one of my “clean up” pages, where I had used up any extra paint from another project. The pink section seem to be just calling for a face. So I used Jane Davenport’s profile stencil for the outline of her face. Then I took a teal marker and just started doodling swirls for her hair. It was really fun!

Sometimes when we are tired and don’t think we have it in us to produce anything of any worth, we actually become *more* creative! How else would this page, splotched with pink and green paint, seem like the perfect page on which to paint a profile? How would I have thought to doodle the hair? In the past, I have used rubber stamps for hair, filling in with doodles. But tonight I was even too tired to search for a stamp…so I did the whole head in doodles! You know what? I really like it! It’s fun. It’s whimsical!

So the next time you are stuck or tired or whatever you are feeling that makes you feel like you just can’t do what is is you would like to do, take some time to think creatively about how you can accomplish your goal more quickly and easily and still be happy with the results. That’s what creativity is all about.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shirley Douglass
    Sep 29, 2013 @ 20:38:36

    Oh Rose! She is so cute 🙂 I know what you mean. Sometimes it is hard to get yourself going. I am so glad I completed this challenge. It is a real sense of accomplishment. So, congratulations on your completing it too. Hugs and smiles 🙂

    Reply

  2. Marianne MW
    Oct 01, 2013 @ 14:12:09

    Congrats on finishing all portraits!! I love your portraits and you are so very good in painting different hairstyles. I too know what you mean, I had troubles staying inspired the last week but I finished it too 🙂 so I now have some time to visit all the participants of the challenge 🙂
    Have a great day!
    xxx Marianne MW

    Reply

    • Raine
      Oct 01, 2013 @ 18:12:47

      Thanks, Marianne! Congratulations on finishing, too! It’s really quite an accomplishment. I’m taking a few days off from blogging to recuperate and get inspired to do something else.Enjoy looking at all of the different portraits. I still need to do that, too.Raine

      > Date: Tue, 1 Oct 2013 18:12:10 +0000 > To: aqualuna13@msn.com >

      Reply

Leave a Reply

