Serenity and Compassion

Hello, there, my dear friends. I have been gone for a week for a very good reason. All hell broke loose here last weekend! My husband and I arrived home from dinner Friday night only to be greeted by a less-than-pleasant fragrance. The sewer pipe had backed up into our basement! Ewwww!!! So this past week has been filled with plumbers, insurance adjusters and cleanup crews. The good news is that we’re insured. The adjuster couldn’t have been nicer. The crews from the clean up company have been wonderful! Courteous, efficient and compassionate.

Because of all of the drama going on here, I haven’t spent much time making art. Now that everything is under control, I got the itch to work in my journal today. I opened up to a page with a little stencil and paint cleanup on it. There was also some stenciling that I did during the week. Just playing. No real plan in mind. Earlier this week I also found a picture that reminded me of Quan Yin, Goddess of Compassion, and printed out a copy. Today I started playing with my watercolors, filling in the white spaces. The colors in the picture I printed seemed to go with the colors on the page, so I glued her down. It all came together very easily. The overall effect of the page felt quite serene to me. That gave me my title: Serenity. (click on image to enlarge)

IMG_0676

I am grateful to all of those who treated me with compassion this week. Things are looking up. I’m feeling calmer today than I have in…well…a week! It felt really good to play in my journal and I am very happy with how the page turned out.

I wish you peace and serenity. Treat those you encounter with compassion. Remember to be compassionate to yourself, as well.

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jackie Beeman
    Oct 06, 2013 @ 02:09:43

    Glad you had a positive outcome to a yucky situation!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

