Journal Cover

I finally got around to finishing and photographing my latest journal cover. I made the back cover extra long so that I could fold it over as a flap on the front. I learned this style from Effy Wild. I painted and stamped it a few weeks ago. For a while, I had it covered in deli paper to keep it clean. When I found my can of spray sealer, I tore off the paper, spread my journal out on a big piece of cardboard and gave it several coats. Now I don’t have to worry too much about stains. Most will just wipe right off. Yesterday I did the beading on the binding cords. (click on images to enlarge)

Journal Front with Flap Closed

Journal Cover - Closed

Journal Completely Opened

Journal Cover - Fully Open

Close-Up of Beading

Journal Cover - Bead Closeup

This journal is 10 1/2″ X 9″. I think I’m going to make a smaller one the next time. I like to switch sizes every now and then. I makes me have to think differently. I love the challenge.

I love making journals as much as I love journaling in them. I find it very relaxing…almost meditative. I hope you journalers out there will try it at least once. Who knows? You might enjoy it as much as I do!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Debbie
    Oct 06, 2013 @ 20:43:18

    Nice! I especially like the peacock feathers. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Jackie Beeman
    Oct 06, 2013 @ 23:58:02

    Pretty colors. Yes I love yo make journals……probably more than using them!😍

    Reply

  3. Shirley Douglass
    Oct 07, 2013 @ 00:26:08

    I love the colors on this! It turned out beautiful! I am busy making journals for myself right now and getting further and further behind on my BOD work. (Don’t tell her I used the word “behind”.) LOL Sending hugs and smiles

    Reply

    • Raine
      Oct 07, 2013 @ 01:47:43

      Thanks, Shirley! I love how the pink and yellow make that wonderful orange. Color theory is a wonderful thing! Sometimes it’s good to take a break from journaling to make a few journals. Just to do something different. I think I have three or four journals waiting in the wings!Hugs and Smiles back at you!

      > Date: Mon, 7 Oct 2013 04:26:10 +0000 > To: aqualuna13@msn.com >

      Reply

  4. Patricia Ross Lacroix
    Oct 07, 2013 @ 20:48:10

    Omgosh! It is the same colors! This came out awesome Raine. I love all the feathers and the beading too ;D

    Reply

  5. artfullee
    Oct 11, 2013 @ 15:21:33

    I love this cover Raine. Such happy colours. I do love making them too and it is rather meditative especially when my creative mojo is on vacation at least I can do something. Art journally

    Reply

    • Raine
      Oct 11, 2013 @ 15:45:30

      Thanks, Lee! I know what you mean by doing something Art journally! Doing the stitching really IS meditative. Especially if it’s a stitch you’re comfortable with and don’t have to think about it much.

      > Date: Fri, 11 Oct 2013 19:21:36 +0000 > To: aqualuna13@msn.com >

      Reply

Leave a Reply

