Inspired by Dyan Reaveley

Dyan Reaveley is one of my favorite artists and teachers. I had the distinct privilege of taking a class with her last year. I even got my photo taken with her. (Wow! Both of us have our hair its natural color!)

Dyan Reaveley and Me

I’m such a fangirl and an Art Nerd! I get “star struck” when I’m around someone who is famous in my circle. Dyan definitely fills the bill. I’m going to be taking THREE classes with her in less than two weeks.  *Squeeeeee* I can hardly wait!

In anticipation of Dyan’s classes, I’ve been watching some of her videos. Her energy and creativity know no end. She got me so excited that I gathered up my Dyan Reaveley Creative Journal, some Dylusions Ink sprays, a set of Dyan’s stencils and some of her stamps. This is what I came up with.  (click on image to enlarge)

IMG_0693

First I sprayed the pages with three colors of Dyan’s ink sprays, letting them mix and blend. After mopping up the excess ink, I spritzed water through a stencil and then blotted up the excess water. I got a “ghost” image where the ink lifted. Using the “Annie” stencil on the left-side page, I sprayed with Calypso Teal. Then I took the masks from the set, placed them on the right-side page and sprayed around them with After Midnight. To give the figures more definition, I went around the stenciled images on the left with black pen and the masked images on the right with white pencil. After that I played around with her stamps, some pens and my white pencil. Finally, I added a word over each figure.

Since I will be taking this journal with me to work in in her classes, I’m going to show this to Dyan to let her know that her work really inspires me. I encourage you to check out her videos. They are all over the internet, so I would google her name and follow what comes up! I guarantee you will be inspired, too.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shirley Douglass
    Oct 08, 2013 @ 23:12:33

    Love your page, and yes I have watched many of her videos and love her 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

