Attitude of Gratitude

The last few days have been spent reading quite a bit more than arting. Sometimes I just need a break to “refill the well,” as they say. I had to change things up a bit. So I read Part One of Full Moon Falling Faster, written by my dear friend Patricia Mattern. I reviewed the first two books in the Full Moon series on my August 5, 2013 blog post. I really enjoy a good vampire series.  This book didn’t disappoint!

Product Details

After I finished the book, I was in the mood to do a gratitude page in my journal. See how that works? Doing something different can kick-start my creative side! I decorated the spread by scribbling with with a few colors of Caran d’Ache Neocolor II water-soluble crayons. I activated and spread around the colors using a baby wipe. I prefer that over painting on water because I was down in the living room and baby wipes are a bit neater and the page doesn’t get as soaked. Just a personal preference. I added some washi tape and stenciled the leaves. After I stamped the title, I wrote out my gratitudes. Finally I added a few stamps and filled in some areas of my stamping in white. That makes the pages a little more complex and I enjoy tending to the little details. Practicing has made me more comfortable with that aspect of art journaling. (click on images to enlarge)

Here’s an overview of the whole spread

IMG_0707

Close-up of Left Page

IMG_0708

Close-up of Right Page

IMG_0712

I really enjoyed putting this spread together. It was extremely relaxing. I’m grateful for that, as well! What are you grateful for? I challenge you to make a list of at least five things you are grateful for today. Even if one of them is “I’m breathing”!!!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. patricia mattern
    Oct 11, 2013 @ 17:49:39

    This was beautifully written and the artwork wonderfully designed with depth and color!
    I thoroughly enjoyed reading and viewing this!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

