Autumn Leaves

I don’t know if I could live anywhere besides New England. I love the change of the seasons. Right now it is Autumn and the changes around me are amazing! I have always loved Autumn leaves. I’ve preserved them, painted them, stenciled them and carved rudimentary images of them into stamps. Like the larger ones on the tree and the little ones in piles at the base of it.  (click on image to enlarge)

IMG_0704

This page started with some Neocolor II crayons, blending them with a baby wipe, adding shapes with lighter colors. I added tape that coordinated. The tree is a stencil that fit marvelously where I had made some circles with the crayons. I added some of my own carved leaf stamps and a title. It’s a relatively simple page but it expresses a lot.

The Autumn leaves go out in flames and turn to dust. But in the Spring, new buds grow from where the old leaves had fallen. Like Phoenixes rising from the ashes, our trees come back to life! I don’t know if I could live without this dance of Life. I was born and raised here. It is in my blood. I share the energy of the Phoenix. This is Home.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tndhuff
    Oct 26, 2013 @ 00:45:51

    I enjoyed reading this post and hearing about your process.

    Smiling because I love autumn too and have always wanted to visit New England in the fall. It *does* seem so beautiful from all the pictures I’ve seen. One day . . .

    Reply

Leave a Reply

