Flowers In Her Hair

Here is my Day 5 mixed media piece for NaNoJouMo.  (click on image to enlarge)

NaNoJouMo #5

She was fun to make. Her face is a mix of markers, pastels and acrylic paint. Her flowers are actually 3D embellishments that I glued on. The background is Distress Paint with a border of marker and stamping. I wrote the title with a marker and outlined the words with a white Gelly pen.

This is a good example of what “mixed media” art is all about. I like using pastels for skin tone but generally use acrylic paint for hair. I have lots of choices for backgrounds…acrylic paints, pastels, watercolor. I can pick and choose which medium I want to use where. It gives me endless possibilities. It is artistic freedom.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Michelle LaPoint Rydell
    Nov 06, 2013 @ 12:23:24

    Wow! Raine she is so beautiful! I love her skin and cheeks, but my favorite part is her sparkly eyes!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

