Dina Wakley Class

I was fortunate to be able to take some classes with the talented Dina Wakley last week. In the class titled “Beyond the Ink Pad” we learned several different ways to stamp without using ink. We played with Gelatos, Neocolor II watercolor crayons and PanPastels. Even more importantly, we learned what to do *after* we’ve stamped, when we start thinking, “Ok, NOW what?!?!?” We actually came away with three completely finished journal pages. (click on images to enlarge)

Dina Wakley class  11-13     1

Dina Wakley class 11-13     2

Dina Wakley class 11-13     3

In most classes, you usually concentrate on a project or on learning techniques. Of course, you are bound to learn some techniques in a project-oriented class. However, technique-based classes don’t generally focus on a completed project. This is where Dina’s class differed. It was great to learn her techniques on how to continue to work on a page to bring it to completion.

Dina is an awesome teacher. She really knows her stuff and freely offers her artsy wisdom. She’s a lot of fun but she still manages to keep her class focused. Dina is very encouraging and gives plenty of one-on-one attention, pointing out what really works and offering suggestions when you are not sure what to do next. If she is ever in your area…go!  You won’t regret it.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Viv
    Nov 11, 2013 @ 22:27:36

    Your finished pages are gorgeous!

    Reply

  2. Jackie Beeman
    Nov 12, 2013 @ 02:14:05

    Great pages. You are one lucky lady to be able to take so many in person classes! Just a bit jealous, here! It’s fun to hear and see new hinges people are learning and making! Love the face one is it a stencil or stencils?

    Reply

    • Raine
      Nov 12, 2013 @ 03:25:20

      Thanks, Jackie! I admit I am very fortunate to be able to take classes with so many well-known artists. The face is actually a print-out of a vintage woman that we traced using carbon paper. Then we went over that with a Stabilo pencil then paint. A fun process!

      > Date: Tue, 12 Nov 2013 07:14:07 +0000 > To: aqualuna13@msn.com >

      Reply

  3. sweetredclover
    Nov 20, 2013 @ 21:38:02

    I love the woman one too! I missed this post…I was going to ask the same thing as my Honey did! …now I’ve got a good excuse for why I swiped carbon paper from my job! (They were going to toss it…I am not an office supply thief! …ok, maybe Sharpies…no, no…joking…in case it ever comes up in a law suit…awkward…haha) I am going to have to try that technique!

    Reply

    • Raine
      Nov 21, 2013 @ 14:58:52

      Thanks, Sweets! I told Dina that her technique changed my life. It did! She went on to explain how most accomplished artists use this and similar techniques. It was a mind-blowing piece of information!

      > Date: Thu, 21 Nov 2013 02:38:02 +0000 > To: aqualuna13@msn.com >

      Reply

  4. Shirley Douglass
    Nov 25, 2013 @ 11:58:57

    Yes, you are truly lucky to be able to take classes in person with these wonderful teachers. I’m going to find and take a class in 2014. I have promised myself this. Love the carbon paper idea. Need to get myself some.

    Reply

    • Raine
      Nov 25, 2013 @ 20:24:46

      Thanks, Shirley! I really am fortunate to be able to take these classes. I’m going to take one with Kelly Kilmer in January. She is the teacher who introduced me in Art Journaling! Almost 6 years ago. She’s turned into a wonderful mentor and friend.

      > Date: Mon, 25 Nov 2013 16:58:57 +0000 > To: aqualuna13@msn.com >

      Reply

Leave a Reply

