Newly Inspired! Thirty Posts in Thirty Days!

I’m back to arting more regularly, having found new inspiration. I was becoming a bit overwhelmed by my journal. It was SO BIG!  I was also trying to do two-page spreads in it. That gave me 11×15 inches of white space to fill.  Overwhelming!!! I decided it was time to downsize. I picked up a journal that I made using 5X8 inch watercolor cards. I had folded 9 cards, nested them in 3 signatures of 3 cards each and bound them into a book. I had covered it in beautiful scrapbook paper, inside and out, and added a pretty decorative cut-out to the front. I can’t show you the covers yet, though, because the journal is completely encased in waxed paper. Yeah, I’m a little OCD about keeping my covers clean! I will be sure to post photos of it when the journal is completed. Another benefit of this journal is that I used the pages to clean off my brayer while making prints. So every page is almost completely covered in at least one color. Bonus! No “blank page syndrome.”

Here is the title page and the first couple of pages in my journal.  When I get caught up, I will go back and show you some of the art I’ve made since we last met. (Click on the images to enlarge them.)

3-14 -- 4-14 Title Page

These are the first two pages in my journal. Even though I sometimes skipped around a bit, choosing pages with colors I wanted to work on, I am going to show them in chronological order.

I was inspired by Rae Missigmon‘s videos, “15 minutes of mixed media,” where she gathers some supplies, sets a timer for 15 minutes and has at it until the timer goes off.  While I didn’t limit myself to 15 minutes, I did drag out some supplies and just played until I felt the page looked finished! My latest favorite art supply that I got after watching Rae’s videos are “painters” paint pens. I love them! They come in wonderful colors and are very opaque.

3-17-14 Believe

3-18-14 Sassy

 

I hope you enjoyed catching up with me and seeing what I’ve been up to lately. Perhaps the advent of Spring and watching the last of the snow melting that has helped to inspire me. I hope it finds you well and inspired, too.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jackie Beeman
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 16:58:38

    Good to see what your up to Raine, thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  2. Raine
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 17:21:38

    Thanks for being a faithful follower, Jackie!

    Reply

  3. Julia Vazquez
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 18:14:18

    This pages are beautiful. Your work is so inspiring.
    Hugs,
    Julia

    Reply

  4. Raine
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 19:52:33

    Thank you very much, Julia! It’s a whole new look for me!

    Reply

  5. Zoe @ Top Floor Treasures
    Apr 01, 2014 @ 22:23:27

    I’m in love with the ‘believe’ page! ❤

    Reply

  6. Kimmie
    Apr 02, 2014 @ 01:30:20

    Hiya, popping in from Effy’s blog-along. I so totally get the whole overwhelmed thing. I’m having the same issue right now. I’ve decided to go back to basics and work forward again. I see we participate in many of the same online groups. Besides Effy’s, I am in Lifebook 2014, the DLP, and am part of Jennibellie’s Inspiration Station. I love your pages above, especially the “SASSY” one. Looking forward to following you. (((HUGS)))

    Reply

    • Raine
      Apr 02, 2014 @ 02:01:47

      Thanks for popping in, Kimmie! I’m making sure to download all of the classes I take so that I can go back to them if I get overwhelmed. It really helps. Wow, we are in a LOT of the same groups! I guess great minds really DO think alike! 😉 I’m glad you like my SASSY page. It was fun to do. Thanks for following. (((Hugs))) back at ya!

      Reply

  7. kimpdx
    Apr 02, 2014 @ 14:19:29

    I love these pages! I’m going to have to check out the 15 minute videos–that sounds like a fabulous way to get in some arting.

    Reply

  8. Debs
    Apr 14, 2014 @ 03:27:37

    Why have I not been here before? Bad bad me! Raine.. I ADORE your blog.. you have a new stalker! LOL Love your work…… Off to grab another cuppa and lose myself in all your scrummy art… xxxxx

    Reply

  9. witchbaby825
    Apr 28, 2014 @ 23:26:45

    I love your believe page!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

