Let’s Take a Look at My Documented Life!

Today I thought we could take a break from my art journal and look at a few of the art challenges prompted by The Documented Life Project that I have been involved in. Every week the co-founders post a small prompt. They each publish the page in their planner that they made using the prompt, to give us some inspiration. Then we run with it! You can see my planner and my first week’s challenge page on this post. Here are some of the pages that I have come up with to meet the challenges. (Click on the images to enlarge.)

For Week 2, we were prompted to post a selfie, which is a self-portrait, usually taken with a cell phone.  Mine was taken after a class I had taken with Dyan Reaveley. Obviously, I was very happy when the picture was taken! I included an image of a winged heart because I have considered them to be my insignia, of sorts, for many years.

Week 2 - Selfie

Week 3’s challenge was to add an envelope from our mailbox. The first photo shows the front of a security envelope with a window. I attached a paper flower to it that I had gotten in the mail from a friend. Next to the envelope is a leftover piece from a print I had made, that I thought would look nice showing through the window in the envelope. The second picture shows how right I was! The last picture shows the back of the envelope, decorated with washi tape and a piece about creative energy that I got online.

Week 3b

Week 3a

Week 3c Finished

On Week 4, we were asked to write a secret message then paint or cover over all but one word. I chose to leave the word “read” visible. I painted over the message and added washi tape to make sure the rest of the message was completely obscured. I added a heart that I cut from a painted paper that I had made, as well as a sticker that has the word “LOVE” on it. These were to express my love for reading.

Week 4 Challenge

That’s my documented life for the rest of January. I hope you like the creative ways that I addressed the challenges.  It’s not too late to get in on the fun! Look here for more details.

Now go out and live a life worth documenting!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jackie Beeman
    Apr 05, 2014 @ 00:17:40

    Great to see all your great work Raine! It makes me happy! Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  2. sparkledaysstudio
    Apr 05, 2014 @ 17:55:44

    quite wonderful and colorful, love your use of the washi. xox

    Reply

Leave a Reply

