Book of Days

For a couple of years now, I have been taking the Book of Days classes with Effy Wild. She has inspired me and helped me to develop my artistic style. While I tend to copy her class spreads very closely, I have learned new techniques and ways to approach art that I have integrated into my own work. So tonight I thought I’d share some of the journal spreads that I have done during the last session.  (Click on images to enlarge.)

I used a stencil for the tree in this spread. Instead of just coloring the image, I put Super Heavy Gesso through the stencil with a palette knife to get a wonderful, barky texture. I painted the tree with markers and used acrylic paint for the grass and sky. I adapted the message to reflect my own thoughts about what I feel I carry “beneath the surface.”

BOD Week 3

This spread is to celebrate the “tribe” of women that has gathered together through Book of Days. Sharing our journals with each other every week builds a bond that we carry with us long after the session ends. There are many of us who continue on with Effy’s classes because of the bond we share with her, the way her art resonates with us, and because it’s like an artistic and spiritual home for us.

BOD Week 7

The last spread I want to share is a mandala. I am generally mandala-challenged! I have a hard time coming up with design ideas…and, frankly, most of my circles end up pretty wonky. When Effy did this spread, she shared the trick to making nice circles. Who knew you could just trace around a cup and a plate with a pencil?!?! The fact that she started with a lotus blossom was what made me give this one a try. I LOVE lotus blossoms. Once I was able to draw that, the rest sort of fell into place. I followed along, pretty much row by row. I used Tombow markers for the nice bright colors. I’m really proud of this piece.

BOD Week 6

I encourage you to check out the offerings Effy has on her site. Be sure to tell her Raine sent you!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jackie Beeman
    Apr 05, 2014 @ 21:43:43

    I really enjoy your blogs Raine and all your BOD spreads are beautiful! Xoxo

    Reply

  2. Helena
    Apr 06, 2014 @ 04:38:19

    I really like your take on these art practices. I have looked into it but I don’t own things like Tombow markers so I’ve yet to do them.

    Reply

    • Raine
      Apr 06, 2014 @ 11:49:08

      Thanks, Helena! You could use any media to do this. Colored pencils, watercolor, any kind of markers, etc. All of them could do something like this. Give it a try!

      Reply

  3. sparkledaysstudioCorrine
    Apr 06, 2014 @ 11:46:30

    Lovely work and i so get kandala challenged,but i like your wavy lines. xox

    Reply

    • Raine
      Apr 06, 2014 @ 11:51:37

      Thanks, Corrine! You’ll notice I still got a little wonky on the outside circle. But I’m still happy with it. Wavy lines are fun because they are wonky by nature!!!

      Reply

  4. Effy Wild
    Apr 07, 2014 @ 00:44:06

    You rocked my poptarts. 🙂

    Reply

  5. Amanda Hayler
    Apr 07, 2014 @ 18:21:57

    Fabulous xxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

