Finnabair

This past January I took a couple of classes with Anna Dabrowska, also known as Finnabair. Her mixed-media collages are highly textured and contain lots of three-dimensional elements, like clock parts, bottle caps, and paper flowers. She even has a new piece on her blog that contains a pair of embroidery scissors! She makes it all look both edgy and elegant.

In one of the classes we made journal pages. She likes to make the collage on one sheet of paper then cut it down the middle and mount the two pieces on opposing pages. It’s a very interesting look. I an including here two such pieces that I made. My third piece is only the left half of such a collage. I hadn’t finished the whole page, so I simply used the side that was done. I mounted my pages in my existing journal. I actually already had Gelli-printed backgrounds that coordinated with my collage pages! (Click on images to enlarge.)

Finnabair class - Innocent Beauty

Finnabair class - Inspiration

Finnabair class - Vamp

I will do another post with the covers of the journal we made. They are both heavily decorated. I felt they were impractical to keep as a cover and too pretty to hide away. I decided to make them into two pieces of art in their own right. To that end, I haven’t finished them yet. When I do, I will make sure to share them with you.

If you ever have a chance to take a class with Finnabair, do it! She is a very sweet and creative person. She is very generous with her techniques, her art supplies and her encouragement. In my classes a great time was had by all!

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jackie Beeman
    Apr 06, 2014 @ 22:24:14

    Very pretty pieces Raine! Did you take a class in person or online? Did you do her lesson in life book, or skip it, because you already did her class? Curiosity killed the cat, but I’m still curious! Thanks again for sharing all your art with us. Xoxo Jackie

    Sent from my iPhone

    Reply

    • Raine
      Apr 06, 2014 @ 23:27:52

      Thanks, Jackie! I was fortunate to take her classes in person. She’s awesome! I didn’t do the Life Book page. Partly because I had just done something similar, partly because I simply didn’t have the energy to dig through my stuff! Sad but true… ; )

      Reply

      • Jackie Beeman
        Apr 06, 2014 @ 23:33:20

        That makes sense to skip, her class , since you just finished hers! Your lucky to be able to take so many in person classes!

        Sent from my iPhone

  2. Raine
    Apr 07, 2014 @ 02:05:47

    Very true, Jackie.

    Reply

  3. Viv
    Apr 07, 2014 @ 05:49:15

    Love these Raine. Beautiful pieces!

    Reply

  4. Helena
    Apr 07, 2014 @ 11:58:14

    These are lovely and perfectly timed with Easter in their colour.

    Reply

  5. Shirley Douglass
    Apr 08, 2014 @ 15:20:13

    This are great. I love the way they turned out!

    Reply

  6. Raine
    Apr 08, 2014 @ 18:04:55

    Thanks, Shirley! She’s awesome and her classes were terrific!

    Reply

  7. Trackback: My Documented Life for February | Three Roses Creations

Leave a Reply

