Minions!

I absolutely LOVE both of the “Despicable Me” movies. All of the characters are wonderful, funny, and well-voiced. But I must admit that I have a soft spot for the Minions. Seriously, who wouldn’t want hundreds of those cute little guys running around doing their bidding? So when I found a piece of mail with these three little cuties, I just HAD to make a page for them! The yellow and black “Keep Out” borders are tape. I think that the way the background color is lighter in the center makes it appear that the Minions are looking up at a light in the sky. I wonder what they see. Or maybe they are on Transporter pads! I leave it to your imagination. (Click on images to enlarge.)

3-24-14

I started this “Amazing” page by gluing several pieces of printed deli paper onto the painted background. I did some stamping and stenciled some paint through a piece of punchinella (also known as “sequin waste”). Then I got out the paint pens and just worked intuitively, adding color and pattern until I was happy with how it looked. Finally I added some rub-on butterflies, flowers and the title. It truly was an amazing process!

3-25-14 Amazing

This piece also started with some painted deli paper over the background. I put a little white paint on some bubble wrap and printed it onto the page. We art journalers love bubble wrap! I added a few stamps and lots of paint pen work, realizing I had a theme going on. Dots! Even the starbursts are surrounded by dots. The only part of the page that wavers from the theme is the little snail in the lower, right corner. He shows up in most of my recent journals. He’s become sort of a mascot for me. You just never know when he might appear again!

3-26-14 Dots

That’s my first week on blogging every day. So far, so good! I really appreciate your comments. They are very encouraging and give me the desire to continue to come back and share my art with you.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. seekingmeme
    Apr 07, 2014 @ 21:14:22

    Your art is so rich with layers and I love your color choices. Found you from Effy’s blog along and I’m so glad I did!

    Reply

  2. Zoe @ Top Floor Treasures
    Apr 07, 2014 @ 21:29:44

    Raine I love all your pages but that one in the middle really lights me up! ❤

    Reply

    • Raine
      Apr 07, 2014 @ 22:14:52

      Thank, Zoe! I almost didn’t post that one because I was afraid it might be too busy. But *I* really like it, so I did. I’m really glad that you like it, too. 🙂 ❤

      Reply

  3. witchbaby825
    Apr 07, 2014 @ 23:55:06

    Loving your pages!

    Reply

  4. tndhuff
    Apr 08, 2014 @ 11:12:17

    Popping over from Effy’s blog-along. Grinning because I enjoy the minions, too, and so love that you made a page just for them! Seems right somehow, doesn’t it?

    Reply

  5. Shirley Douglass
    Apr 08, 2014 @ 14:58:12

    Love all of them! I love Minions; I am especially found of the colors in the middle one; and I like dots so I am happy with all three of them. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

