Reading

Today I took a lazy day.  I didn’t do any art. I just had my nose to my iPad, reading my 64th book this year. That’s right…64th…this year! I am most happy when doing one of two things…making art or reading a book. Granted, most of the books I’ve read this year will not win any Pulitzer prizes. Many of them are what are sometimes referred to as “cozy” mysteries. I call them “fluffy!” But they are fun and keep me entertained.

My favorite sort of book will have vampires or witches or some element of the paranormal. Hey, I grew up watching “Dark Shadows” after school, so I come by this naturally! I particularly like books in a series. I have a horrible short-term memory and it’s nice to have a handle on at least the main characters. I read one series with 22 books in it! The main characters were different but the series revolved around a particular vampire family. It was lots of fun!

I also read a little Dean Koontz, one of my sister’s favorite authors. His books tend to have an unusual twist to them and I really enjoy that. Science fiction is always a great alternative to the paranormal.

Thank goodness for Kindle or my house would be even more over-run with books than it already is! I was probably one of the last hold-outs for eBooks. I love the feel of a book in my hands. It’s so tactile…the smoothness of the cover, the texture of the pages. But I only have so much room in my house for bookcases. So now a lot of the books I read are on my iPad. I’ve made peace with the concept!

Thanks for stopping by. I’ll try to get some art up for you tomorrow. As soon as I finish this book…

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dhowell9000
    Apr 10, 2014 @ 00:05:11

    Try John Saul, wicked cool! Also Jean Auel! I have read “thousands” in my lifetime! Love to read!

    Reply

    • Raine
      Apr 10, 2014 @ 00:29:41

      Thanks, Dawn! I’ll have to look those up. I’m just more in reading mode than arting mode right now. But I have plenty of recent art to showcase.

      Reply

  2. dhowell9000
    Apr 10, 2014 @ 00:12:39

    OH! If you like Paranormal? And funny,interesting? You would LOVE Janet Chapman’s Highlanders series! Charming the Highlander is book one!

    Reply

    • Raine
      Apr 10, 2014 @ 00:32:54

      I love your enthusiasm! I’m the same way. The 22-book series starts with “A Quick Bite” by Lynsay Sands. It’s the “Argeneau Vampires” series. Loved it!!!

      Reply

  3. optrixxaris1
    Apr 10, 2014 @ 03:38:24

    Love books so much that blogs are the closest to books I’ll read online. I love the Nancy Drew books the best. I was once told off for reading too much Point Horror at school instead of the boring classics.

    Reply

  4. Elaine
    Apr 10, 2014 @ 07:19:54

    So what are you reading now?

    Reply

    • Raine
      Apr 10, 2014 @ 13:39:47

      Elaine, I got caught up in the latest of the Chicagoland Vampire series by Chloe Neill. There are now nine books in the series. My husband and I both enjoy them.

      Reply

  5. Michelle LaPoint Rydell
    Apr 10, 2014 @ 14:24:10

    64 books this year? WOW I am impressed and inspired! I used to read avidly but gave it up abruptly over 10 years ago. Thinking of picking it up again. P.S. Dean Koontz is one of my favorites too!

    Reply

    • Raine
      Apr 10, 2014 @ 16:20:15

      Thanks, Michelle! I have a problem with double vision and I’m dyslexic, so reading can be a challenge! But I’m a night owl and it’s nice and quiet from midnight to 4a.m., so I can really concentrate!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

