Pop-Up Positive!

Week Seven in LifeBook 2014 was hosted by Jane Davenport. The challenge was to celebrate our positive qualities with images that we could use on a pop-up page. Remember the old pop-up books we used to have as children and how magical if felt to have a three dimensional wonderland appear from their pages?

First, we had to identify three positive qualities about ourselves. I decided to focus on my happy disposition, my love for others and my affinity for the moon. I represented my “sunny” side with a smiling sun stamp, which I embellished with markers, as well as a rainbow. My love for others is embodied in a personal totem, of sorts…a winged heart. My affinity for the moon was the easiest to do. A bright, full moon in a starry sky was all I needed.

I mounted all of my images to a page that already had one of my printed papers adhered to it. It only took a little tweaking to have my art pieces pop up when I open to that page. It’s like magic! And I did it myself!!   (Click on images to enlarge.)

Week 7 Pop-up a

Here is an overhead shot.

Week 7 Pop-up b

This is how it looks from the side.

Week 7 Pop-up c

This was a very fun experience. I’m sure I’ll try it again. After all, who doesn’t like to make a little magic?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Zoe @ Top Floor Treasures
    Apr 10, 2014 @ 21:57:34

    That’s GENIUS! I love it! I had lots and lots of pop-up books when I was little, they were always my favourites 🙂

    Reply

  2. dhowell9000
    Apr 11, 2014 @ 00:39:36

    That Looks Awesome! I need to go back and do the ones I have skipped, I have been lurking a little, and trying to finish off a project for someone…..then I will try and catch up all things “lifebook”! I LOVE that Sun! did you draw it or is it a stamp? Fantastic page!

    Reply

    • Raine
      Apr 11, 2014 @ 01:52:45

      Thanks, Dawn! I have several lessons I want to go back and do. I haven’t done any in a while. The sun is a stamp. I’ve had it for a while so I don’t remember who makes it.

      Reply

  3. Michelle LaPoint Rydell
    Apr 12, 2014 @ 23:38:25

    Ohhhh this is fantastically magical Raine! It makes me happy just to see it! Beautiful page!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

