More Journal Pages

This page started with the red background. I ended up using only black and white elements, mixing stamps, markers and mark-making tools. The circles were made by dipping the cap from my paint dabber into paint and stamping it on the page. The lines were made using the edge of an old gift card. Nothing is safe when I’m looking for something to make marks with! The stamp with the image of the girl with the crown and the text stamp are by Dina Wakley. She has lots of fun images and stencils. I picked out a couple of the words from the text stamp with a white marker and added the word “art” to complete the page.

3-29-14  Create Enjoy art

For this page I had a scrap of painted paper with yellow and purple that I adhered to the top. Since yellow and purple are opposite each other on the color wheel, they are considered “complementary,” meaning when you use them together, they really pop! I decided to use two of the Stencil Club club stencils from StencilGirl.  I played around with different shapes on the stencils and added some of my own doodles. I even added a touch of blue and orange…another complementary pair. The black acts to ground the colors. The three black shapes on the right just make me ridiculously happy!

3-30-14

For those of us in the Northern Hemisphere, the days are getting longer and the temperatures are rising. The snow has melted and we are finally putting away our shovels and snow blowers! I hope you are all enjoying the change in the seasons, whichever hemisphere you happen to be on.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. BubbleArt
    Apr 11, 2014 @ 22:02:03

    Very cool pages!

    Reply

  2. dhowell9000
    Apr 12, 2014 @ 00:30:23

    I got Ridiculously Happy as well when I saw Them Black Squares!! How COOL!! I Love random….Most people dont know, but Random is sometime VERY hard to do!! Loved your post Raine!

    Reply

    • Raine
      Apr 12, 2014 @ 02:14:09

      Thanks, Dawn! Random really IS hard. If I try to scatter an element randomly on a page, inevitably they will line up in rows! I must give credit where credit is due…the black squares are a stencil by the crazy-talented Mary Beth Shaw of Stencil Girls.

      I’m so glad you are enjoying my posts. I really appreciate you visiting and leaving your encouraging comments! ❤

      Reply

Leave a Reply

