Inspired

Sometimes I look at a blank journal page, even one that has a little color on it, and have no idea what to do. I get totally blocked. Fortunately, now I have a resource to help me when that happens. It’s called the Mixed Media Inspiration Deck. It’s made by Kiala Givehand. She’s a wonder! The deck gives prompts for things to do on your page. For example, some of the ones on the following page include using a favorite stamp, stamping an image multiple times, scribble write, use a color you don’t usually use and write with your non-dominant hand. I did the entire page using only prompts from the deck. It’s incredibly freeing! Kiala also makes expansion packs for added prompts centered around a technique, such as doodling or stenciling, or added journaling prompts, for when you are at a loss for what to write. My deck is kinda fat. Some days I’ll take all the help I can get! Here’s how the deck inspired me.  (Click on images to enlarge.)

3-31-14 with Mixed Media Inspiration Deck

I started this page by simply adhering a strip of painted paper to the right side. I picked up a postcard that I got in the mail for a local gem and mineral show. I loved the photo on it so I peeled away a few layers of paper from the back to make it less bulky and glued that down. I added some stamping and doodling until I felt the page had the right “energy.” That gave me the words to add to complete the page!

4-2-14 Healing Energy

I hope that I’ve inspired you a bit. It’s nice to know that I have sources of inspiration available when I need a little help.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. BubbleArt
    Apr 12, 2014 @ 18:56:45

    This deck is on my birthday wish list!!

    Reply

  2. dhowell9000
    Apr 13, 2014 @ 02:13:16

    LOVE what you did! another way to get inspired? is to get some Magazines, and cut out words, and pictures that catch your eye. I fussy cut until my hands cramp, but if I cant cut? I still pull the page and save it for cutting later. If you like Odd? there is a Magazine called High Fructose that is really cool! but I even use wig and dance catalogs! You never know what will grab your attention! and then….if you feel blocked? just look through them pictures and words….BAM! Every time!!

    Reply

    • Raine
      Apr 13, 2014 @ 03:46:35

      Thanks, Dawn! Those are really good ideas! I have a folder of magazine images and words. They come in really handy for inspiration.

      Reply

  3. Kiala Givehand
    Apr 13, 2014 @ 03:20:17

    Raine!!! You amaze me woman!!! I love this blog and I’m so thrilled that you are enjoying the deck. Thank you for spreading the word and for sharing your art with the world — we need more beauty surrounding us. That feather has my attention — I love it.
    –creative hugs…
    Kiala

    Reply

    • Raine
      Apr 13, 2014 @ 03:50:40

      Thanks, Kiala! That means a lot to me. ❤ I'm happy to share about your deck! The feather is by Alisa Burke. She's got a set of them.

      Reply

  4. tndhuff
    Apr 13, 2014 @ 11:56:17

    What a great resource! Thank you so much for sharing! 🙂

    Reply

    • Raine
      Apr 13, 2014 @ 16:39:08

      You’re very welcome! I’m always happy to share things that work for me because I feel if they work for me, they’ll work for others, too!
      Thanks for checking out my blog.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

