Testing…Testing…

My first page today already had the blue background. I glued a strip of printed paper to the left side. The right side didn’t have much paint on it, so I decided to make a swirly border, to which I then added some little leaves. I stamped the butterfly, a few words and some text. I added a little bit of color to the butterfly with a marker. Then it was just a matter of doodling a little with some paint pens and the page was finished. (Click on images to enlarge.)

create…play…journal

4-3-14

On this next page I tried a technique that I heard about a while ago. It requires a thin, translucent paper. I used a new deli paper I got. One night I had noticed that the deli paper that the place that delivers our dinner uses in their boxes got really translucent when it was wet. So when I called them a few weeks ago I actually asked them if they could give me a few extras to play with. They know me pretty well by now so they had no trouble with this request. They even sent more the next night! A few nights later, I asked them what brand it was. (It’s Logan Wrap, by the way.) So I went online and bought a box. You can get *anything* on Amazon!

I was using a bird stamp on this page. I stamped the image in the square on the deli paper and glued it down. You can barely see that there’s anything glued down. A bonus…if you are worried about stamping imperfect images in your journal, stamp them on the deli paper, cut them out and glue them in. I wanted to add two more birds but I didn’t want them all facing the same direction. Here’s the technique I tested. I stamped one of them on the deli paper with a waterproof ink, let it dry, cut it out, and glued it *ink side down* in my journal. That reverses the direction. It worked great! Then I colored it to go with the other two. I also drew a few more clouds and continued the image of the tree down the left side of the page to blend with the stamped box. I printed the word FLY, decorating it a bit with a white paint pen.

FLY

4-5-14 FLY

I really like this technique. Now I won’t have to get frustrated when a stamped image isn’t facing the direction I’d like it to. Give it a try!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. APG Jamie
    Apr 13, 2014 @ 20:03:27

    one must simply love the deli paper

    Reply

  2. BubbleArt
    Apr 13, 2014 @ 22:56:21

    Ring Ring…Hello…Can I have an order of deli paper to go please? << Cracks me up!

    Reply

    • Raine
      Apr 13, 2014 @ 23:19:44

      I know, right?!?! They are used to me now and they do little special things for me and we always have fun on the phone. I’ve even had them bring my empty pizza boxes to use as a spray box!

      Reply

  3. Debs
    Apr 14, 2014 @ 03:29:19

    Love this to piece…. the colours on the butterfly page are gorgeous!
    I just posted a comment, then saw it was an older blog entry, so copied to paste here! LOL xxxxx
    Why have I not been here before? Bad bad me! Raine.. I ADORE your blog.. you have a new stalker! LOL Love your work…… Off to grab another cuppa and lose myself in all your scrummy art… xxxxx

    Reply

    • Raine
      Apr 14, 2014 @ 03:39:01

      Thanks, Debs! I replied to your other comment, too. But it’s nice to read your comments again! I’m so glad you are enjoying my art. It’s so encouraging to me.

      Reply

  4. Judy Shea
    May 22, 2014 @ 12:45:22

    I really love that page, Raine. That butterfly looks like an image transfer. Just lovely.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

