Pastel Portrait

A few years ago I took an art class with my sister. The teacher’s technique was something I had never heard of before. We scribbled with colored pencils onto a piece of paper. Then we picked up the “pencil dust” with a cotton swab and used the swab like a paint brush to apply the dust to our picture. It’s similar to using chalk pastels, I suppose. My sister really mastered the technique because she has incredible patience and concentration, so she would apply multiple layers to get the effect she wanted. I really enjoyed this process, too. It was something new to add to my repertoire of art techniques.

This is a portrait I did of a friend’s baby boy. I did it using a photograph as a reference. You can see what a soft effect this technique produces. (Click on image to enlarge.)

Declan - Colored Pencil Dust

I’m really glad that I took this class. Not only did I learn something new, I got to spend some quality time with my sister.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jackie Beeman
    Apr 17, 2014 @ 15:51:16

    This is fantastic Raine

    Sent from my iPhone

    Reply

  2. Jackie Beeman
    Apr 17, 2014 @ 15:53:05

    That is adorable Raine, never heard if that technique before and I bet it does take a lot if patience, something I’m in short supply if! 😊

    Reply

  3. dhowell9000
    Apr 17, 2014 @ 19:28:42

    I’ve never heard of that technique, but it sure is soft, almost cuddly looking! Love what you did Raine!

    Reply

    • Raine
      Apr 17, 2014 @ 19:31:31

      Thanks, Dawn! It really does look very soft. I wish my photo showed a bit more detail but this was hard to photograph using just my iPad!

      Reply

  4. shivashakti925
    Apr 18, 2014 @ 02:36:53

    Wow, Raine!!!!! I love this…….its so beautiful and sweet !!!!!! Purely awesome…..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

