A Study in Contrast

This was a fun little page that is a good example of the benefit of using colors that are opposite on the color wheel. In this case, I used blue and orange. I already had a nice, soft blue background. I added a little bit of collage and some stamping with bubble wrap. The squiggles were made by pushing neon red paint through a stencil. It works well in the color scheme because it is a very orangey red. I had also rubbed some of the neon red in the corners but decided to go over it with yellow, which gave me a really bright orange. The washi tapes were the perfect color combos for the page. The crowning glory is the butterfly that I found. It’s actually blue with orange spots! See? I’m not the only one who knows about contrast. 😉  (click on image to enlarge.)

4-10-14

It’s very rewarding when a piece of art comes together in a way that makes me happy. This page makes me smile. And isn’t that one of the nice things that art can do?

Leave a Reply

